Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aerobiter
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I tried this with the addition of hickory chips to give it an extra savory flavor. Excellent look and flavor. The skin was crispy and the meat moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerobiter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
We loved this recipe. It was extremely flavorful - great mix of spices. The next time I make it, I will leave it in the brine longer than 15 minutes to make it even juicier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
this came out wonderful.. bf nearly devoured the entire bird.. had to use lemon b/c we didn't have any limes.. ty for this uber good recipe.. it really deserves more stars imo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
The rub was very tasty. We smoked the chicken and it turned out wonderful. We used a sweet and spicy paprika and next time will add more to make it spicier. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcgarvey87
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Picture does this chicken no justice.... this is soooo good!!! My hubby and I LOVED it!! I soaked it in the water mixture for 2 hours + left in the fridge for 2 hours.... AMAZING. I will definitely be making this multiple times! So juicy and good... plus making it on top two beer cans on the grill is just toooo fun!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
awesome! whole family devoured it! I let it sit all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Flavor doesn't get into the meat enough. The skin, however, is to die for. Maybe I'll just go psycho on it next time and put a lot more holes into the chicken. Very tender meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I did not use any beer in the rub as I thought it didnt need it. This recipe is very heavy on cumin flavor so if you dont like cumin, cut back and replace it with another spice. I added garlic powder and extra paprika. Also, I dont think its necessary to refrigerate the chicken for an hour. I did the rub and let the chicken sit for 20-30 mins before putting it on the grill and it had plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this tonight for my husband's Father's Day dinner. I had not tried a beer can chicken before but like the idea of the herb rub. It was outstanding and will pass this recipe on. It is definitely a keeper. The meat was moist and flavorful but this crispy skin was heavenly I did it as written and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent! I love Peruvian style chicken and this hit the mark. The ingredients as listed were perfect as was the lime water wash. I didn’t cook a beer can chicken, rather I direct grilled a cut up chicken on the grill after marinating the chicken as described in the recipe. DO NOT skip the lime water wash step because I think that it moistens and tenderizes the chicken. For the person that said that the marinade didn't penetrate the meat very much - pierce the meat thoroughly with one of those needle style meat tenderizers such as a 24 pin meat tenderizer tool, I have the Deni brand. I grilled it over mesquite coal of which added another dimension of flavor. Thanks ricfera for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States