Peruvian Lomo Saltado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I will definitely be making this again!! It was flavorful, easy and a great way to use up left over take-out french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Love this dish! I used flat iron steak and just salt and peppered after slicing. I let it "marinade" for an hour before stir frying. I also used cilantro instead of parsley. Made the Aji recipe found online, and used fresh local potatoes for the fries. I tossed the fries with the meat JUST prior to serving. Tasted just like my favorite Peruvian restaurant... And we have lots leftover! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerrillCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allison
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was an easy and delicious recipe. I did not have any french fries on hand but I had some tater tots in the freezer I baked off. Turned out great. I also used cilantro, red onion, garlic and kept the potatoes separate instead of adding them into the pan with the sauce to finish as some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I lived in Peru for a while and I love coming across recipes I've had abroad. I've made this a few times now, and these are my favorite modifications. I make my own fries. My changes to the recipe: I do not peel or seed the tomatoes. I use cilantro instead of parsley. I use leftover medium rare roast beef for the meat, cut into thick slices. I use half white vinegar and half white wine vinegar. I use an aji amarillo paste (1 heaping tablespoon of that for a nice flavor). My method: Heat oil, add onion and stir until cooked, then add tomatoes and cilantro. Add aji (if using paste), vinegar, soy sauce, dash of cumin, salt and pepper. Add cooked beef, then toss in french fries. Amazing and tastes authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is pretty spectacular! My husband and I had this meal at a local Peruvian restaurant a few days ago. It was AMAZING SOOOO I just HAD to see if I could recreate it at home. With a few suggestions from other reviewers, I made it. It is so easy, yet it tastes so gourmet! I marinated the meat (I used a 1 lb rib eye steak)in red wine, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, and a few splashes of low sodium soy sauce. I sprinkled the meat with some Adobo seasoning and some cumin before putting it into the marinade. I didn't have the aji Amarillo pepper but I don't like spicy so I didn't miss it. I used regular tomatoes sliced into strips and I did remove the seeds at the same time to cut down on the liquid from them. I also used the red onion as suggested which is what was in the dish at the restaurant. I also used cilantro in place of the parsley. The entire meal cooked in a matter of minutes once everything was sliced up. I took another reviewer's suggestion to make the rice by frying some garlic in some oil then putting my rice into the pan and sautéed it for a minute before adding the water to finish cooking. I also made the fries myself and served them alongside the dish (again, also the way it was served in the restaurant). It is OUTSTANDING and tasted just like the restaurant's meal. Thank you for posting this recipe! I will be making this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by pt929mm1
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe was excellent! I did use Gina's suggestion and used Roma tomatoes, red onion, cilantro, and cumin which combined gave it a great taste. I will definitely be making this again, very easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pt929mm1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savage, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Easy to follow with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Maybe it was because I used frozen french fries, but it's not like any lomo saltado I've ever had. I've done this recipe a couple of times--some with the modifications that are in other reviews, but it still doesn't taste right to me. This last time, my husband and I added way more soy sauce (closer to actual flavour), then we added stir fry sauce (and that really helped quite a bit!!). I'm a little disappointed, and I must say, I'm still waiting for the right lomo saltado recipe to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I also used pureed cilantro instead of parsley. I season the meat with just a little Adobo instead of salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bwight
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I used chicken instead. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States