Peruvian Lomo Saltado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Traci Fisher
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This recipe is great! I made a couple adjustments based on the comments (red onion, roma tomatoes, garlic, cumin, & cilantro instead of parsely). I also threw in a couple different peppers (red, green, yellow) and topped mine with an egg. That is how my friends who are Ecuadorian do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Fisher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
One of the most delicious dish from Peru and so easy to make! It seems it is true, the similar the cooking, the more delicious is the food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Made some changes and it turned out great! - Marinated beef for 1 hour in vinegar/soy & added 2 big pinches of Cumin - No need to take beef out of pot once cooking - Used Chipotle chilli pepper powder instead of yellow chilli pepper - Brown sugar to cut down acidity if needed - Allow to boil & simmer after adding soy/vinegar at the end to bring it to the correct flavor - Used steak fries and added them right before eating, so the fries wouldn't be soggy - Will use cilantro instead of parsley next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lei Lani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Me gusta el receta mucho pero yo pienso que Las papitas fritas estarian mas delicioso y crujientes hecho en casa al contrario de usar papitas frisadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great, I used the crockpot for the meat and added french fries when I was ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I will definitely be making this again!! It was flavorful, easy and a great way to use up left over take-out french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Love this dish! I used flat iron steak and just salt and peppered after slicing. I let it "marinade" for an hour before stir frying. I also used cilantro instead of parsley. Made the Aji recipe found online, and used fresh local potatoes for the fries. I tossed the fries with the meat JUST prior to serving. Tasted just like my favorite Peruvian restaurant... And we have lots leftover! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerrillCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allison
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was an easy and delicious recipe. I did not have any french fries on hand but I had some tater tots in the freezer I baked off. Turned out great. I also used cilantro, red onion, garlic and kept the potatoes separate instead of adding them into the pan with the sauce to finish as some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I lived in Peru for a while and I love coming across recipes I've had abroad. I've made this a few times now, and these are my favorite modifications. I make my own fries. My changes to the recipe: I do not peel or seed the tomatoes. I use cilantro instead of parsley. I use leftover medium rare roast beef for the meat, cut into thick slices. I use half white vinegar and half white wine vinegar. I use an aji amarillo paste (1 heaping tablespoon of that for a nice flavor). My method: Heat oil, add onion and stir until cooked, then add tomatoes and cilantro. Add aji (if using paste), vinegar, soy sauce, dash of cumin, salt and pepper. Add cooked beef, then toss in french fries. Amazing and tastes authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is pretty spectacular! My husband and I had this meal at a local Peruvian restaurant a few days ago. It was AMAZING SOOOO I just HAD to see if I could recreate it at home. With a few suggestions from other reviewers, I made it. It is so easy, yet it tastes so gourmet! I marinated the meat (I used a 1 lb rib eye steak)in red wine, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, and a few splashes of low sodium soy sauce. I sprinkled the meat with some Adobo seasoning and some cumin before putting it into the marinade. I didn't have the aji Amarillo pepper but I don't like spicy so I didn't miss it. I used regular tomatoes sliced into strips and I did remove the seeds at the same time to cut down on the liquid from them. I also used the red onion as suggested which is what was in the dish at the restaurant. I also used cilantro in place of the parsley. The entire meal cooked in a matter of minutes once everything was sliced up. I took another reviewer's suggestion to make the rice by frying some garlic in some oil then putting my rice into the pan and sautéed it for a minute before adding the water to finish cooking. I also made the fries myself and served them alongside the dish (again, also the way it was served in the restaurant). It is OUTSTANDING and tasted just like the restaurant's meal. Thank you for posting this recipe! I will be making this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States