Peruvian Lomo Saltado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
An absolutely gorgeous dish! I served it over oven-baked chips. But I served the leftover saltado over bulgar. We would choose bulgar any day! It was FAB! In keeping with the Peruvian theme, it would also be lovely served over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I am Peruvian and if you are looking for an authentic "Lomo Saltado" flavor, this is it! I also believe that it is better to use real potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada Cowan-Ruhlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Delicious - I used a red onion and balsamic vingar; more soy sauce and a little bit of lemon juice. This MUST be served with rice to be authenitic! I grew up in Peru - brings back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I'm Peruvian and also think this is a great recipe. Marinating the meat and adding cumin are great tips. Sometimes when I make this I bring home large fries from a fast food joint, then just throw them on top of the stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Vratsa, Vratsa, Bulgaria
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I grew up in Peru and I second third and forth... Cumin! Cilantro! Red onions! For me the Cumin and Cilantro are key. I also like it more cooked quick and hot with plenty of oil. The combination of bold flavors, rich texture and fresh cilantro make me drool. And it is pretty quick to prepare when you get everything chopped. I once had it at a restaurant in the US with sesame oil- I totally didn't expect that but it actually was delicious. For an amazing, unique cold potato/ spicy cheese sauce dish that is unique to Peru, search "papas a la huancaina" on google or yahoo. This dish is a national classic and it highlights the 150 years of Chinese presence in Peru. The cooking method is from the wok stir frys of China. In Peru all peruvian restaurants are called "Chifas" When I lived in China, imagine my surprise when many meals began with the host and hostess telling all of us to chi fan! chi fan! (the "chi" rhymes with fur, but the pinyin way of spelling is chi. " Eat rice! " And in Peru they call fried rice arroz chowfa. Arroz is rice in Spanish. "Chow"fan is fried rice in Mandarin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This recipe is very authentic. In Peru, there are also different versions of this recipe. A lot of the people toss broccoli in there, string beans cut diagonally, or cauliflower with the rest of the same ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I am a Peruvian as well and this has been my favorite meal since my dad first introduced me to Peruvian food when I was little. A restaurant I especially recommend to get this meal at for people in Manhattan is Flor De Mayo in the Upper West Side (around 100th Street and Broadway)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I am peruvian and had loved this recipe since I was a child. Instead of using frozen fries, try making the fries yourself by chopping potatoes into fries and making frying them in a pan, just add a little olive oil. They come out cruncy and great! Also, added cumin and minced garlic to the marinade to give it an authentic taste and served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
My family is from Peru and this is a favorite when we visit Lima, and at home. I marinated the meat in the vinegar and soy sauce. Gave the meat a nice flavor. Used red onion and made my own french fries. Also used cilantro instead of parsley and added quite a bit of minced garlic. I used some aji amarillo in a bottle I purchased last time I was in Peru. Pretty much impossible to find fresh aji in the states from what I have seen. Served over rice! Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Wow, this was absolutely delicious! Imperative that the meat is marinated in the vinegar/soy sauce for at least a half an hour. Like others, I added cumin, garlic and subbed cilantro for the parsley. I used Ore Ida steak fries to much success! I did turn up the heat to almost a broil for an extra 4 minutes at the end to make them extra crispy. Make yourself a pisco sour, and try this recipe, it's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States