Peruvian Lomo Saltado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
My husband is Peruvian, his family introduced me to this, they have it almost every sunday.. Also living in Miami, there are tons of latin/south american restaurants that serve this dish. Tastes authentic, the only things I did was: marinate the meat in the vinegar and soy sauce,thinly slice hot yellow peppers add a bit of garlic and cumin. Also I've never liked how the potatoes are always soggy, so toss them in last when ready to serve the dish. I used large slices of RED onion and ROMA tomato along with cilantro, NOT parsley. One thing is this doesn't produce much juice or gravy, which is my family's favorite part to top white rice. I also serve spicy aji sauce on the side. The better cut of steak you use, the better this will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I made this with rare seared tenderloin tipsand served it atop a citrus black bean stew and topped it with and Aji sauce I found on this site. Garnish with Orange slices and you have a meal fit for a king. I also didn't toss the fries in the sauce I just placed the meat and veggies over it like a gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This tastes better if you use real potatoes , not frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I am Peruvian and if you are looking for an authentic "Lomo Saltado" flavor, this is it! I also believe that it is better to use real potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada Cowan-Ruhlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I grew up in Peru and I second third and forth... Cumin! Cilantro! Red onions! For me the Cumin and Cilantro are key. I also like it more cooked quick and hot with plenty of oil. The combination of bold flavors, rich texture and fresh cilantro make me drool. And it is pretty quick to prepare when you get everything chopped. I once had it at a restaurant in the US with sesame oil- I totally didn't expect that but it actually was delicious. For an amazing, unique cold potato/ spicy cheese sauce dish that is unique to Peru, search "papas a la huancaina" on google or yahoo. This dish is a national classic and it highlights the 150 years of Chinese presence in Peru. The cooking method is from the wok stir frys of China. In Peru all peruvian restaurants are called "Chifas" When I lived in China, imagine my surprise when many meals began with the host and hostess telling all of us to chi fan! chi fan! (the "chi" rhymes with fur, but the pinyin way of spelling is chi. " Eat rice! " And in Peru they call fried rice arroz chowfa. Arroz is rice in Spanish. "Chow"fan is fried rice in Mandarin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Delicious - I used a red onion and balsamic vingar; more soy sauce and a little bit of lemon juice. This MUST be served with rice to be authenitic! I grew up in Peru - brings back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
An absolutely gorgeous dish! I served it over oven-baked chips. But I served the leftover saltado over bulgar. We would choose bulgar any day! It was FAB! In keeping with the Peruvian theme, it would also be lovely served over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Great recipe! Add some cumin and it tastes just like my mom used to make it. You can also omit the potatoes and serve it in a bun. I would recommend a little longer cooking time at the end so the juices thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I first encountered Lomo Saltado in a small Latin restaurant in my area, where it quickly became a favorite. Unfortunately, the restaurant took this dish off the menu, so I was very pleased to discover it on this site and re-create it at home. As is, I think this recipe is OK. If you’re willing to invest a bit more time, however, it is a wonderful dish. 1) I’ve eaten meat and chicken versions of this recipe. I find the chicken to be better. 2) Do marinade the meat in the vinegar and soy sauce for at least an hour, if not several hours. The added tanginess is nice. 3) Ditch the frozen fries (does anyone really like Ore Ida?) and make your own. I agree, crispy, crunchy shoestring fries are best with this meal. I also season the fries with added pepper and paprika. 4) To serve, either place meat with some of the marinade on top of a “bed” of fries, or separate fries from the meat - but keep on the same plate! - so guests/family members can pick from both piles. This is good. I hope others try it despite the unusual name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I'm Peruvian and also think this is a great recipe. Marinating the meat and adding cumin are great tips. Sometimes when I make this I bring home large fries from a fast food joint, then just throw them on top of the stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Vratsa, Vratsa, Bulgaria

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States