Peruvian Lomo Saltado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I made this for the International Festival for my daughter's middle school. The kids ate up a recipe that was five times the size of the posted recipe in minutes. They loved it. I thought it tasted OK, but it looked like someone threw up their Burger King. In defense of the recipe, my twenty year old daughter just finished a semester of college in Cusco, Peru and she said the recipe was very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Delicious!!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I use Cilantro instead of Parsley, it adds another level of flavor to this dish, watch how I made this at www.youtube.com/pdrdas72
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdrdas72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Wow, this was absolutely delicious! Imperative that the meat is marinated in the vinegar/soy sauce for at least a half an hour. Like others, I added cumin, garlic and subbed cilantro for the parsley. I used Ore Ida steak fries to much success! I did turn up the heat to almost a broil for an extra 4 minutes at the end to make them extra crispy. Make yourself a pisco sour, and try this recipe, it's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This recipe had a good flavor but it was too "stew-y". Lomo saltado is supposed to be "stir-fried". There is no covering to let the meat cook in stir frying! The method of cooking has a big impact on the flavor. Here are grandma's bulletpoints: 1) Lomo saltado is made with *lomo*, meaning tenderloin. If you can get some (I get it when it's on sale and freeze some), please use that. There's no need to marinate a good tenderloin. And don't let the juices release. Stir fry, in a wok, with HIGH heat. You want the juices to release in your plate. 2) Make sure your onions are RED. (I have small kids, so I won't say anything about the frozen fries; it's a good shortcut) 3) no need to peel or seed tomato. 4) Grandma says parsley AND cilantro. She was the best cook in the world, so she should know. 5) You add the meat back just to bring all flavors together, 30 seconds or so (you're still stir frying at high heat). Do not overcook. I repeat: DO.NOT.OVERCOOK! Your vegetables need to be still crisp. 6) Have your crispy fries waiting and add them only at the end, a split second before serving, and if possible only to the portion that you're going to eat right away or they'll get soggy. There, now it's just like grandma's, that is: perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
A friend from work from Peru recomended this to me as an authentic Peruvian dish. I was skeptical but it was actually very good. Interesting with the fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
My family is from Peru and this is a favorite when we visit Lima, and at home. I marinated the meat in the vinegar and soy sauce. Gave the meat a nice flavor. Used red onion and made my own french fries. Also used cilantro instead of parsley and added quite a bit of minced garlic. I used some aji amarillo in a bottle I purchased last time I was in Peru. Pretty much impossible to find fresh aji in the states from what I have seen. Served over rice! Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I have made this meal several times. I never peel or de-seed the tomatoes. That's a waste of time. Make sure to use RED onions for better flavor. Don't use parsley, use cilantro!!1 Never use Ore-Ida frozen potatoes, they fall apart. Cut your own fresh potato fries or some other brand. I like to use peruvian aji salsas called aji panca and aji amarillo to spice up the beef. I just fry the salsas in oil for a bit and then add the beef to it. You can add garlic puree too. Finally, don't forget the touch of vinegar, it really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I am peruvian and had loved this recipe since I was a child. Instead of using frozen fries, try making the fries yourself by chopping potatoes into fries and making frying them in a pan, just add a little olive oil. They come out cruncy and great! Also, added cumin and minced garlic to the marinade to give it an authentic taste and served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States