Peruvian Lomo Saltado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Fantastic! We did it with chicken...also added about a cup of chicken broth to the sauce...you can never have too much sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joeandjen1991

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I loved this! Great recipe - like we had in Lima. I couldn't find aji amarillo, so I substituted Hungarian Wax, which worked pretty well. I also added garlic and paprika after reading a few other recipes. Added a few pisco sours to go with it - perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
We lived in Peru for two years and this was one dish we missed terribly! I made a few adjustments to mine though. I used Deer steak cut into strips and marinaded them in italian dressing over night. I also added some texas pete to the meat while it was cooking! I also used Roma tomatoes and left the seeds and peeling on them! Awesome recipe and GREAT meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
It was really good. But the only thing a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Yummy!!!!!!I used red onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Iron_Dwarf
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Exceptional! Like others have said, marinate the meat beforehand. As I couldn't get any yellow chili pepper, I used a green Thai pepper. I would also recommend either making the fries yourself from scratch or getting them at a take-away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I prepared this for my family the other night and it came out perfect. I used chicken instead of beef and I followed the advice of some of the previous reviews by marinating the chicken ahead of time. This tasted just as good if not better than what I've tried in the resteraunts. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Super quick to make and tasty! Next time I will make my own fried potatoes though, because McCain superfries are just as gross as I remember from my childhood. Couldn't find any aji amarillo, fresh or otherwise, at a couple of grocery stores so you may need to go to a specialty shop; I used cayenne pepper instead. I marinated beef tenderloin for approx 30 minutes beforehand in the vinegar/soy sauce/cayenne pepper mix with some salt and pepper and then poured in more vinegar and soy sauce once everything went back into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This dish was fantastic! I actually never found the yellow Chili Powder, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Goldman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Loveeeeeeeeed it. My husben is peruvin and could not get enough of it. I give it a 5...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States