Peruvian Lomo Saltado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Nicky1226
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It was really good! I did marinate the meat with garlic , red wine vinegar , soy sauce and some white wine vinegar for about 45 minutes before cooking. You will definitely end up needing a little bit more than a "dash " of soy sauce. In the end , after i placed the rice in a measuring cup to give it a nice shape , I took a tablespoon of soy sauce and put it in the rice , for some extra flavor. Also , I cooked the fries until crispy and just mixed it in the plate with the food, I never actually mixed it with the steak, to avoid them becoming soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SouthernGalNPeru
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I am an American living in Lima, Peru, and I learned a lot about this dish from a Peruvian friend that cooked it for me. Since she doesn't use written recipes with measurements, I looked one up to combine these ideas with her suggestions. As others have said, marinate the meat before you cook it. I marinated beef tenderloin with red wine vinegar (some use red wine for this), soy sauce, pressed garlic cloves, cumin, oregano, salt, and black pepper. As others have mentioned, this dish is always cooked here in Peru with red onion. I soaked my onion in some water and vinegar to lessen the onion flavor since they are quite strong here. I do recommend taking out the seeds of the tomatoes (I used Roma) because that can add extra liquid that takes away from the desired stir-fry cooking style that stems from the Chinese influence in this dish. Don't cover it as it cooks - keep it "jumping" as the name implies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elk Park, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Always great but I like adding cumin and adobo to the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by niabi
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I prepared this dish for my husband and mother-in-law, both Peruvian. They enjoyed it! I did add half of the vinegar than what was called for in the recipe; my husband makes this often and he has never used vinegar as an ingredient. Still, the flavor was quite good. I did add quite a bit more than a dash of soy sauce and I fried the potatoes myself. Oh, and substituted cilantro for parsley. Seems like a lot of changes, but the base recipe is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niabi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Good take on a Peruvian classic. A few small tips to make it even better- add some cumin to the beef when seasoning along with the salt and pepper. You can also add soy sauce or marinate it in soy sauce. The two biggest omissions for me are first that when you're adding the soy sauce and vinegar (although I personally use red wine over vinegar) you also should add some worcestershire sauce (although some recipes call for beef bouillon). Second at the very end, right before your done throw on some cilantro. The worcestershire and cilantro give it the really authentic Peruvian flavor in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I'm Peruvian and this recipe does capture the taste of authentic lomo saltado. I fried my own potatoes and used red wine vinegar instead of white. With red onions,yum, this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nsgoodbye
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was one of the best meals I've ever tasted. My boyfriend is Peruvian and he said it tasted just like his Mom makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Lomo Saltado! I marinated my stir fry beef in red wine vinegar, soy sauce, garlic powder, and a little freshly ground black pepper while I prepared my vegatables, fries, and rice. I as able to find aji amarillo at my local Latino grocery. I used fresh chopped cilantro instead of parsley and I went with a red onion. Try adding strips of red bell pepper to sweeten the dish slightly and to add color and texture. For a video on how to prepare Lomo Saltado, I'd recommend Allreceipes' user Pedro's http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NUywRYwY9gQ&feature=BFa&list=PLYH-mN8crBv2oA2hw-rF9R_lmilrt_ZAp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I can't believe these few ingredients make this delicious of a meal. Got the beef tri tip from Costco. Couldn't find the aji amarillo (jarred or otherwise) at our supermarket and had to buy the paste - used about a heaping teaspoonful and may use another half next time. Made the french fries with yukon golds as well and they came out fab. Served with brown rice and let everyone assemble before eating so the fries maintained some of their crunchiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My brothers Mother-in-law is from Peru and made this as a dinner when we were visiting a couple of yrs ago, I never forgot it (it was one of the best dishes I've ever eaten). I finally got up the courage to try to copy it using this recipe, expecting to be disappointed. It was almost exactly as I remembered, although she made homemade french fries which I will do next time. It is an easy recipe to make and ends up out of this world. I would actually rate this 10 stars if I could. Get the aji Amarillo pepper if you can it has a different flavor than other peppers. She also had a Peruvian Cheese sauce Out of Casa fresco cheese that was delicious over the top of it, I'll post the recipe under Peruvian aji Amarillo sauce!!! If you make this recipe you will not be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States