Peruvian Lomo Saltado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pt929mm1
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe was excellent! I did use Gina's suggestion and used Roma tomatoes, red onion, cilantro, and cumin which combined gave it a great taste. I will definitely be making this again, very easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pt929mm1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savage, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Easy to follow with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Maybe it was because I used frozen french fries, but it's not like any lomo saltado I've ever had. I've done this recipe a couple of times--some with the modifications that are in other reviews, but it still doesn't taste right to me. This last time, my husband and I added way more soy sauce (closer to actual flavour), then we added stir fry sauce (and that really helped quite a bit!!). I'm a little disappointed, and I must say, I'm still waiting for the right lomo saltado recipe to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I also used pureed cilantro instead of parsley. I season the meat with just a little Adobo instead of salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bwight
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I used chicken instead. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Love the recipe!! Very authentic. I read the reviews and decided to go with the ore Ida steak fries and it turned out just as good as if I had prepared the fries myself. I used Spanish onions and no aji (even though I'm Peruvian, I don't do spicy...go figure). Marinated the meat as in the reviews and I do think it made a difference from the first time I cooked this recipe. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicky1226
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It was really good! I did marinate the meat with garlic , red wine vinegar , soy sauce and some white wine vinegar for about 45 minutes before cooking. You will definitely end up needing a little bit more than a "dash " of soy sauce. In the end , after i placed the rice in a measuring cup to give it a nice shape , I took a tablespoon of soy sauce and put it in the rice , for some extra flavor. Also , I cooked the fries until crispy and just mixed it in the plate with the food, I never actually mixed it with the steak, to avoid them becoming soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SouthernGalNPeru
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I am an American living in Lima, Peru, and I learned a lot about this dish from a Peruvian friend that cooked it for me. Since she doesn't use written recipes with measurements, I looked one up to combine these ideas with her suggestions. As others have said, marinate the meat before you cook it. I marinated beef tenderloin with red wine vinegar (some use red wine for this), soy sauce, pressed garlic cloves, cumin, oregano, salt, and black pepper. As others have mentioned, this dish is always cooked here in Peru with red onion. I soaked my onion in some water and vinegar to lessen the onion flavor since they are quite strong here. I do recommend taking out the seeds of the tomatoes (I used Roma) because that can add extra liquid that takes away from the desired stir-fry cooking style that stems from the Chinese influence in this dish. Don't cover it as it cooks - keep it "jumping" as the name implies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elk Park, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Always great but I like adding cumin and adobo to the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by niabi
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I prepared this dish for my husband and mother-in-law, both Peruvian. They enjoyed it! I did add half of the vinegar than what was called for in the recipe; my husband makes this often and he has never used vinegar as an ingredient. Still, the flavor was quite good. I did add quite a bit more than a dash of soy sauce and I fried the potatoes myself. Oh, and substituted cilantro for parsley. Seems like a lot of changes, but the base recipe is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niabi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States