Peruvian Chicken Soup (Aguadito de Pollo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
this was very good. used sweet potatoes instead of white just because i had to use it. thanks for the post Jose Mendoza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This needed more "zip" for me. Also, there was way too much oil. Next time I will leave the seeds in the Serrano chile, add more garlic and only use about 1/4 c olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
very good. might add more veggies next time. next time i will cook longer to soften the chicken, then add tbe rice later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I remember whenever my mother's family would make this, and it always seemed more "aguado" more watery, and not as stewed as this ended up turning out. Maybe I did something wrong, but I think next time I'll add more water and cooked the rice separate, so this doesn't turn mushy as this did when I reheated the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcgreg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: South Padre Island, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I enjoyed, of course I take the jest of the recipe and do my own thing. I added more spices, cut things smaller to cook more uniform. but truly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I'm a HUGE soup fan and this get's the top star for me. It was so delicious and hearty. It says to just cut the chicken breasts in half but then I had these "huge" chicken breasts sitting in the pot when the soup was done. Next time I will cut these into bite size pieces - same goes for the potatoes. GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
this was absolutely delicious! i didnt have serrano chile so i put one jalapeno chile and one habanero. for most people a whole habanero would be too spicy in the soup but if you like spicy, which both my husband and i love, you will love this flavor (try half an habanero just to be safe :) i also used only 2 potatoes, 2 breast halves of chicken, half cup peas and half cup corn. which was plenty and i had to add 4 extra cups of broth as the uncooked rice and potato's starchiness reduced the amount of liquid. (i added organic vegetable broth bullion cubes mixed with water since i didn't have any more chicken broth. it added amazing flavor). also, i only had to cook it for about 30 minutes. i would have cooked it for 20 but had to let it cook longer because the rice was not fully cooked. next time i will try making this with half the amount of rice that has been slightly cooked before adding it in the pot. i served it with a wedge of lime squeezed right into the bowl and fresh chopped cilantro. my husband and i loved it!!! i will definitely be making this recipe again. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe and I have gotten a lot of requests from the staff at school. The students did cut up the chicken and the potatoes for the class but that is the only changes we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Absolutely Fantastic! Thank you for the recipe. I used a home made chicken broth with garlic, onions and celery. I love chicken soup and this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I shredded my chicken because I do not like a soup you have to cut up before eating. I used the whole serrano because I wanted the heat and I threw some shrimp in that needed used up (loved that addition). This would have been a 5 star (with or without the shrimp) except the cook time is off. I shaved 10 minutes off and my rice was still overcooked. Great soup and one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States