Peruvian Arroz con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nlly Hnsly
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
LOVE IT!!! Tastes just like my mom's! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nlly Hnsly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Delicious! A bit time-consuming but worth it! I am not good at following recipes. I tend to use what I have on hand. I skinned the drumsticks, salted and peppered and browned, probably longer than necessary. Had fresh cilantro and minced garlic on hand, used my Magic Bullet and it worked great. Moscato, Lime-Aid since I had no orange juice. Minute Rice, part brown and part white, Canned peas, frozen, pre-cooked carrots, one large onion, used red and yellow peppers on top. Oh, and I had some jalapeño chopped and frozen, so I used that instead of the Peruvian pepper. Wonderful flavor! So worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Koehler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
No one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloverdale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloverdale, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mida
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I didn't have enough chicken so I added in kosher beef hot dogs as well as black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Because some reviewers mentioned the rice turned mushy, I cooked my rice in a rice cooker separately, and added it in at the end for a few minutes to blend the flavors. I found aji peppers at my local public market, but since never using these peppers, I wasn't sure how long these peppers typically are. The ones I used were about 2 inches long, and I used 3. The meal wasn't too hot using the three, and it seemed just enough. I also omitted the orange juice and cilantro and I thought the meal turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Maybe I didn't make it the right way, but for all the effort, I didn't enjoy it that much. All the ingredients looked like it was going to be delicious, but it was just kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
A great recipe, I could find everything living in Ecuador.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I add the cumin as others have said, also additional salt and green olives. I never have peas, have used corn 2 times and comes out great! Husband loves it and I do too and I usually don't like baked cooked or simmered chicken. I have used chicken quarters once and drumsticks another time, both turned out great. Always have used brown rice. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
No idea how "authentic" it is but it's very flavorful and tasty. Made several adjustments based on preferences/ ingredients I had on hand. - eliminated peas, cilantro - used only drumsticks - used half the amount of orange juice - cooked rice separately so it won't get soggy - added bell peppers at same time as other veggies - added more broth than called for, especially as the liquid cooked away (eyeballed it) - didn't use a blender (more out of sheer laziness) Next time I'd double the veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was delicious! I didn't have an aji pepper, so I substituted with Peruvian Aji Amarillo paste purchased at a local Spanish supermarket in a nearby neighborhood. Great flavor, very authentic! I've traveled to Peru many, many times and am quite familiar with the cuisine. In fact, Peruvian food is probably my favorite of any kind. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Also, substituted 1 cup of beer for the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States