Peruvian Alfajores Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
it looked just like it, but tasted so bland. i found another recipe that calls for 2 cups of butter 1/4 cup powder sugar and 2 cups of flour. i added 1/2 of regular sugar and 1 tsp. coconut extract too and came out tasting a heck of a lot better. bake at 350 for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I am american but i live in peru, these alfajores really dont taste like the peruvian alfajor, first of all you do not use dulce de leche for alfajores, you use manjar blanco wich is similar but thicker wich is better for the taste, i am not sure where you can get it in the united states but you can get it in peru, and they are bland. maybe i will try to post up an new recepie and see how it works out.but they are not that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbaby9378

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly until it came time to start rolling out the dough. It simply would not stick together in a way to make it possible to do the cutouts. So, I used 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla mixed with a tablespoon on cold water and kneaded it into the dough.It made it better. THese cookies are not sweet at all and have a sandy texture. They are a good counterpart to the sweetness of the dulce de leche. Here's how I make the dulce: take a can of sweetened condensed milk (fat free or whatever you like), take off the wrapper, immerse the can in a heavy saucepan filled with water, and boil for 3 hours. Check periodically and add water to keep covered. Chill for an hour, then open can. When you do it for three hours, it becomes thick and well browned. Any less and it may be too liquidy for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
There are many types of alfajores in Peru. They all vary from region to region. The best alfajores are the ones that melt in your mouth and for this i use corn starch...if the recipe calls for 2 cups of flour, then i mix 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of cornstach. Dulce de leche works but if you want to make manjarblanco, all you do is get a can of condense milk and cook in a pressure cook for 20 minutes and voila...manjarblanco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
To previous comments about the filling - yes, manjarblanco is preferred, but practically impossible to find in the US, and making it is a bit difficult. We've adapted using dulce de leche; but the consistency is more like peanut butter than a smooth caramel cream. Some people find the cookie dough bland, but it is to offset the sweetness of the filling. Most every S. American country makes theirs a little different, with coconut or some other added ingredient. I just tried to replicate the ones my Peruvian mother made for us at Christmas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Perfect and easy - although I added an extra 2 Tbsp. of cold water to get the dough to stick together. My peruvian husband ate the whole batch and I had to make another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
My 6 1/2 year old son helped me make these for his home school co-op lesson on Peru. I needed to add a little cold water to make the dough come together, but they came out great. I would make them again just for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I replaced the shortening with butter and it turned out perfectly. If you don't want the dough to stick to the surface, spread some flour on the surface, and also on your rolling pin. don't roll the pin from one extreme of the dough to the other, but roll in short intervals. You can add some shredded coconut for gasnish after the alfajores are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I added vanilla extract and made the cookies much thinner than the original recipe and added more dulce de leche in the middle. I also used butter flavored vegetable shortening so they are not bland at all. My family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Kathleen is right about how to make the filling. It's not dulce de leche, but manjarblanco. They're similar, but not exactly. Thanks for sharing the recipe with the rest of the world, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States