Peruvian Alfajores Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Also to include:1 Teaspoon vanilla7 table spoons of evaporated milk5 table spoon of regular sugar1 pinch of anis These all go into the dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Haven't tried this yet, but it looks the most similar to my alfajore recipe. a great tip i would like to add is to make the filling just get a can of sweetened condensed milk and put it into a pot go boiling water for 2 hours! (make sure the water doesn't go below the can; at least an inch above) chill for a little bit then open, and voila! manjor blanco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
The cookies were a little powdery and I had to add a little bit of extra water (about a tablespoon and a third, but otherwise, these were some of the best cookies I've ever tasted. As far as the dulce de leche is concerned, I messed up on the redipe I was using (no vanilla bean), and it still tasted good. Overall, these cookies are very yummy, and worth the baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
My recipe for alfajores calls for 2 cups of flour, 1/4 tsp of salt, 2 sticks of butter (skip the salt if you use salted butter), 1 cup of sugar. Bake at 350 for 8 mins. (I live in high altitude so less time baking, you might have to increase time if you're not over 5000 ft). I roll the dough between 2 sheets of wax paper and use Nestle La Lechera dulce de leche which has the perfect consistency. Where I come from (Brazil) we also use guava paste as an alternate filling. I seldom use powdered sugar as it would make the cookies too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I really wasn't thrilled by these. They really are very bland even with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These were very good though time consuming to make. LOL. I was able to use Manjar Blanco. If any of you live in NYC I was able to find it in a Latin American market called Casa Rivera (40-17 82 St) in Queens. I'm in Brooklyn so it was a bit of a hike but worth it. They also carry Aji Amarillo (yellow Peruvian pepper) in case you need it for other Peruvian recipes. I'm tackling Papas a la Huancaina tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I replaced the shortening with butter and it turned out perfectly. If you don't want the dough to stick to the surface, spread some flour on the surface, and also on your rolling pin. don't roll the pin from one extreme of the dough to the other, but roll in short intervals. You can add some shredded coconut for gasnish after the alfajores are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
There are many types of alfajores in Peru. They all vary from region to region. The best alfajores are the ones that melt in your mouth and for this i use corn starch...if the recipe calls for 2 cups of flour, then i mix 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of cornstach. Dulce de leche works but if you want to make manjarblanco, all you do is get a can of condense milk and cook in a pressure cook for 20 minutes and voila...manjarblanco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
To previous comments about the filling - yes, manjarblanco is preferred, but practically impossible to find in the US, and making it is a bit difficult. We've adapted using dulce de leche; but the consistency is more like peanut butter than a smooth caramel cream. Some people find the cookie dough bland, but it is to offset the sweetness of the filling. Most every S. American country makes theirs a little different, with coconut or some other added ingredient. I just tried to replicate the ones my Peruvian mother made for us at Christmas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I added vanilla extract and made the cookies much thinner than the original recipe and added more dulce de leche in the middle. I also used butter flavored vegetable shortening so they are not bland at all. My family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States