Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
really good. I followed the advice of not washing the shrooms, rather wiping them with paper towel. Baked for 10 mins, then added toppings. Not watery this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Use the mushroom for the crust! Genius!!! Used onion, garlic and green pepper in place of the olives to cut the sodium count a little and used turkey pepperoni. Pretty darned good!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! I have Celiac disease and can't eat anything with gluten in it (bread etc.). This is a great idea that I first saw in a health food store and went looking on the internet for a recipe, this is so convenient for me being I am the only one in my house that has Celiac so I can make an individual serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
if you don't mind the slightly rubbery texture, these are great. I also cooked the mushrooms for about 10 minutes prior to topping and rebaking in effort to minimize the moisture. it seemed to work. BABA BOOEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Portobellos are not so runny if the gills are removed prior to cooking. Just scrape them out with a spoon. This is a quick and easy week night recipe. Add a bit of fresh spinach or some canned artichoke hearts, halved grape tomatoes, cooked and crumbled Italian sausage, anything you like on a regular pizza. You can make it as healthy and low calorie as you like by adding or omitting ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
to avoid a watery mushroom, cook longer (30 min) and hotter (425), turning over once. Add toppings and broil until the cheese melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We make these regularly now! So yummy. I usually lightly coat the top with italian dressing and bake for a few minutes cap sideup to soften and get some juice out. I then lightly press a bit more juice out. Then we top and finish baking. doing this we have not had any that were too wet or slick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Make sure to remove the gills of fresh mushrooms before cooking. Added Parmesan cheese, and cooked for about 15 minutes--until the cheese came out with the golden spots (just like a real pizza). Don't use too much cheese or sauce or it will overflow while cooking. However, the sauce marinates the mushroom while cooking and it comes out with a delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These are wonderful! You can't miss the step about baking the mushroom for a few minutes by itself before baking it with the added toppings. I think that is why some people had issues with it being watery. I know, because I missed that step the first time I made these! Also, I made the rookie mistake of rinsing the mushrooms rather than just wiping them off with a damp towel! They were still very good, though, and they have even been better since I realized my mistakes. I topped mine with pizza sauce, mozzarella, and tri-color bell peppers. Even my husband enjoyed them, and he is typically not inclined to enjoy anything unless it is meaty and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Just tried this tonight and it was delicious. Easy, fast and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States