Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Did a green chile pepperoni version, very fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Delicious! I made quite a few changes though because my favorite pizza is the "Gourmet Veggie" from a famous pizzeria so I decided to take that route. Based on prior reviews, I scraped the gills out and roasted for about 7 minutes on each side before putting the toppings on. Mixed some red bell peppers, yellow squash, and vidalia onion with a little olive oil and kosher salt and roasted for about 10 minutes. Used Ragu Alfredo Sauce seasoned up with some some minced garlic, garlic powder, dried basil, dried oregano, black pepper, red pepper flakes. To top, I started with a layer of mozzarella, then some chopped marinated artichoke hearts, roasted red peppers, yellow squash, onion, spooned some of the Alfredo sauce over the veggies. Added another layer of mozzarella and topped with a few pieces of sliced black olives, and a sprinkle of grated parmesan. Popped back into the oven on 375 for about 10 minutes. Outstanding! This recipe would be great with any of your favorite toppings. Next time I'll try it the way it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Love it! What a healthy alternative. I used pizza sauce, onions, red peppers, chopped pepperoni and mozzerella cheese. I followed the suggestion of someone who baked the mushrooms themselves at 400 degrees for 10 minutes and then again loaded for another 10 minutes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used pizza sauce as the recipe submitter suggested, I removed the gills, and had to sub garlic powder for the garlic because I used up my last one without realizing it. These were super tasty and a lot of fun to eat. Oh, and I used the mini pepperoni so that I could distribute them more evenly and they came in mighty handy for this. We enjoyed these and will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
this recipe is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe was so delicious and simple. I made it for the family using 5 mushrooms and multiplied the recipe by 5. The only change I made was to use turkey pepperoni as I am on Weight Watchers. Each pizza was 5 plus points. I served it with fresh crusty bread. It felt like I was dining at a cafe. This is definitely going in my rotation for simple and yummy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was an interesting and delicious departure from the same old sauteed mushrooms we always have with our Friday night grilled steaks. I removed the gills, but followed the recipe for the cooking time and temperature. Didn't use the pepperoni since this was a side dish for our steak. Black olives, chopped onion and green pepper were a very nice mix of toppings. I made extra, which Hubs requested be chopped up and made into a pizza omelet in the morning! This was one of the more interesting things we've tried in awhile, both to eat as well as to include on the dinner plate for visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
My mom actually turned me on to these a long time ago, and they are great! This recipe is so versatile and really allows you to add any toppings you like or have on hand. This is a great low-carb dinner paired with a nice big salad, but I've also served these as a side dish too. YUM, YUM, YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
LOVED these! I scraped the gills out and baked gill side down for about 8 minutes to remove excess moisture. (then skipped the baking for 5 minutes part). I had red & yellow pepper, so I added those to the pizzas along with some fresh baby spinach. I wanted them vegetarian, so I skipped the sausage. What a great recipe and so versatile to whatever veggies you have on hand.....this is going to be the perfect summer recipe for us! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is SUCH a keeper! Loved it... Obviously the intent is to make a pizza with your own favorites, so don't be shy. I used red onions, bell pepper, jalapeno, green olives, pepperoni and a garlic and I was very, very pleasantly surprisedYum, yum, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States