Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Portobellos are not so runny if the gills are removed prior to cooking. Just scrape them out with a spoon. This is a quick and easy week night recipe. Add a bit of fresh spinach or some canned artichoke hearts, halved grape tomatoes, cooked and crumbled Italian sausage, anything you like on a regular pizza. You can make it as healthy and low calorie as you like by adding or omitting ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I love portobello pizzas! They are so good and give me a healthy alternative to satisfy my pizza cravings! I cook the mushroom for 10 minutes at 400 degrees and then add the topping and cook for another 10 minutes. Add whatever your favorite toppings are. I added cooked broccoli the other day just for some extra veggie. Delicious. Update: After reading the reviews, a few people mentioned how watery the mushroom was. A couple suggestions...DO NOT rinse your mushroom off under running water, mushrooms are very absorbent and will just soak up all that water. Just take a cloth or paper towel and brush the dirt off the mushroom. Also, try increasing the oven temp a little bit and cook the mushroom the first time around just a little longer to dry it out more. The mushroom will always be a little watery, but hopefully with those tips it won't be as bad as some have posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
to avoid a watery mushroom, cook longer (30 min) and hotter (425), turning over once. Add toppings and broil until the cheese melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
If you remove the gills, scraping with a table knife first and then bake the mushroom cap gill side down for 5-8 minutes depending on the side, it reduces the wateriness. Then flip it, dry it out and carry on with your fillings as noted.d
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Make sure to remove the gills of fresh mushrooms before cooking. Added Parmesan cheese, and cooked for about 15 minutes--until the cheese came out with the golden spots (just like a real pizza). Don't use too much cheese or sauce or it will overflow while cooking. However, the sauce marinates the mushroom while cooking and it comes out with a delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These are wonderful! You can't miss the step about baking the mushroom for a few minutes by itself before baking it with the added toppings. I think that is why some people had issues with it being watery. I know, because I missed that step the first time I made these! Also, I made the rookie mistake of rinsing the mushrooms rather than just wiping them off with a damp towel! They were still very good, though, and they have even been better since I realized my mistakes. I topped mine with pizza sauce, mozzarella, and tri-color bell peppers. Even my husband enjoyed them, and he is typically not inclined to enjoy anything unless it is meaty and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I thot these were great. I changed the toppings to fit what I had on hand and I also used the tip from one of the reviews about crankin' up the heat a little at the first cooking of the 'shrooms. One more tip is, I pre-cooked them-gills down on a rack on a pan-once that first pre-cooking is done I then placed them gills down on a paper towel for a few minutes while I finished prep on the toppings. My hubby and I didn't find them to be too juicy at all. In fact he went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Excellent! I marinated my mushroom in a bit of Italian dressing for a little extra flavor, and with a little cheese and tomato sauce, it was wonderful. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These were so easy and good that I had to write my first review. I wiped them with a paper towel and used a spoon to clean out the cap of the stem and gills. I then threw them on the grill flipping to get rid of any liquid. Once I thought they were cooked enough I added my toppings. Yumm and so easy! I have a neighbor who loves to taste test any new recipes(or old for that matter) I try. She loved it too! Thanks for a great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was an interesting and delicious departure from the same old sauteed mushrooms we always have with our Friday night grilled steaks. I removed the gills, but followed the recipe for the cooking time and temperature. Didn't use the pepperoni since this was a side dish for our steak. Black olives, chopped onion and green pepper were a very nice mix of toppings. I made extra, which Hubs requested be chopped up and made into a pizza omelet in the morning! This was one of the more interesting things we've tried in awhile, both to eat as well as to include on the dinner plate for visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States