Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
really good. I followed the advice of not washing the shrooms, rather wiping them with paper towel. Baked for 10 mins, then added toppings. Not watery this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Use the mushroom for the crust! Genius!!! Used onion, garlic and green pepper in place of the olives to cut the sodium count a little and used turkey pepperoni. Pretty darned good!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! I have Celiac disease and can't eat anything with gluten in it (bread etc.). This is a great idea that I first saw in a health food store and went looking on the internet for a recipe, this is so convenient for me being I am the only one in my house that has Celiac so I can make an individual serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
if you don't mind the slightly rubbery texture, these are great. I also cooked the mushrooms for about 10 minutes prior to topping and rebaking in effort to minimize the moisture. it seemed to work. BABA BOOEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Portobellos are not so runny if the gills are removed prior to cooking. Just scrape them out with a spoon. This is a quick and easy week night recipe. Add a bit of fresh spinach or some canned artichoke hearts, halved grape tomatoes, cooked and crumbled Italian sausage, anything you like on a regular pizza. You can make it as healthy and low calorie as you like by adding or omitting ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
to avoid a watery mushroom, cook longer (30 min) and hotter (425), turning over once. Add toppings and broil until the cheese melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We make these regularly now! So yummy. I usually lightly coat the top with italian dressing and bake for a few minutes cap sideup to soften and get some juice out. I then lightly press a bit more juice out. Then we top and finish baking. doing this we have not had any that were too wet or slick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Make sure to remove the gills of fresh mushrooms before cooking. Added Parmesan cheese, and cooked for about 15 minutes--until the cheese came out with the golden spots (just like a real pizza). Don't use too much cheese or sauce or it will overflow while cooking. However, the sauce marinates the mushroom while cooking and it comes out with a delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These are wonderful! You can't miss the step about baking the mushroom for a few minutes by itself before baking it with the added toppings. I think that is why some people had issues with it being watery. I know, because I missed that step the first time I made these! Also, I made the rookie mistake of rinsing the mushrooms rather than just wiping them off with a damp towel! They were still very good, though, and they have even been better since I realized my mistakes. I topped mine with pizza sauce, mozzarella, and tri-color bell peppers. Even my husband enjoyed them, and he is typically not inclined to enjoy anything unless it is meaty and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Just tried this tonight and it was delicious. Easy, fast and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States