Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I have made these tons of times I love it! I use cheddar cheese cause I prefer it over mozzarella. I also love green olives over black. My mushrooms are never watery. I rinse them then dry them that may be why. I was so happy to have this recipe b/c I got tired of grilled potabellas lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clementon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I use a grafefruit spoon to remove the gills, this also works on deseeding any fruit. Then i used my regular stuffed mushroom recipe. Cook up a lb or more of Jimmy Dean hot sausage with cream cheese. Stuff. Of course do the regular drying out, can use olive oil on cap after the initial bake....this is so goo. Sprinkly the cheese of your choice on top after stuffing. I've used it all. Pepper jack, gouda, parmesan , . You can mix other things in the mushroom stuffing too...minced red onion, jalapeno relish, i love it hot and spicy with the 2. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
really good. I followed the advice of not washing the shrooms, rather wiping them with paper towel. Baked for 10 mins, then added toppings. Not watery this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Use the mushroom for the crust! Genius!!! Used onion, garlic and green pepper in place of the olives to cut the sodium count a little and used turkey pepperoni. Pretty darned good!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! I have Celiac disease and can't eat anything with gluten in it (bread etc.). This is a great idea that I first saw in a health food store and went looking on the internet for a recipe, this is so convenient for me being I am the only one in my house that has Celiac so I can make an individual serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
if you don't mind the slightly rubbery texture, these are great. I also cooked the mushrooms for about 10 minutes prior to topping and rebaking in effort to minimize the moisture. it seemed to work. BABA BOOEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Portobellos are not so runny if the gills are removed prior to cooking. Just scrape them out with a spoon. This is a quick and easy week night recipe. Add a bit of fresh spinach or some canned artichoke hearts, halved grape tomatoes, cooked and crumbled Italian sausage, anything you like on a regular pizza. You can make it as healthy and low calorie as you like by adding or omitting ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
to avoid a watery mushroom, cook longer (30 min) and hotter (425), turning over once. Add toppings and broil until the cheese melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We make these regularly now! So yummy. I usually lightly coat the top with italian dressing and bake for a few minutes cap sideup to soften and get some juice out. I then lightly press a bit more juice out. Then we top and finish baking. doing this we have not had any that were too wet or slick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Make sure to remove the gills of fresh mushrooms before cooking. Added Parmesan cheese, and cooked for about 15 minutes--until the cheese came out with the golden spots (just like a real pizza). Don't use too much cheese or sauce or it will overflow while cooking. However, the sauce marinates the mushroom while cooking and it comes out with a delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States