Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Personal Portobello Pizza Haiku: "Good taste, but messy. Follow reviewers' advice. Doubt I'll make again." Scraped gills, patted dry, and baked shroom at 400 deg. for 10 min., then filled and topped w/ pizza goodies and baked another 20 min. Still a drippy mess to eat, so I think I'd just rather an English Muffin pizza w/ baby bellas on top instead; glad that I tried this recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I loved it! it's like pulling the topping off of a pizza and eating it, except you feel full afterwards and have no nutrition guilt! i followed the suggestions of some comments and removed the gills and precooked the mushroom a little hotter and longer. i also sprayed the pan with a little olive oil cooking spray so nothing would stick. my caps were pretty flat so the toppings ran off, but the cheese got crispy and delicious around the edges. i topped mine with cheese and frozen italian style meatballs (microwaved according to directions and then sliced into 3-4 slices so they would lay flat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I have made this for many many years when I first discovered a similar recipe on the atkins website. If you are looking for a healthy and hearty pizza, definitely try this. You can play around with the toppings to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I removed the gills as others recommended and baked the mushrooms longer before adding my pizza ingredients. They were tasty, but I feel like they need more spices and pizzazz next time ... that said, I will definitely try cooking them again and I will be more daring with my spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Made mine with red onion and spinach, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy! I cut each pepperoni into 4's so they fit better. I did add a little more spaghetti sauce and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
We have used this recipe several times since we saved it. Each time it provided a great snack or lunch. The flavor profiles of the various ingredients when added together are amazingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deno morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laytonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Ya, it's that good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Did a green chile pepperoni version, very fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Delicious! I made quite a few changes though because my favorite pizza is the "Gourmet Veggie" from a famous pizzeria so I decided to take that route. Based on prior reviews, I scraped the gills out and roasted for about 7 minutes on each side before putting the toppings on. Mixed some red bell peppers, yellow squash, and vidalia onion with a little olive oil and kosher salt and roasted for about 10 minutes. Used Ragu Alfredo Sauce seasoned up with some some minced garlic, garlic powder, dried basil, dried oregano, black pepper, red pepper flakes. To top, I started with a layer of mozzarella, then some chopped marinated artichoke hearts, roasted red peppers, yellow squash, onion, spooned some of the Alfredo sauce over the veggies. Added another layer of mozzarella and topped with a few pieces of sliced black olives, and a sprinkle of grated parmesan. Popped back into the oven on 375 for about 10 minutes. Outstanding! This recipe would be great with any of your favorite toppings. Next time I'll try it the way it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States