Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I have learned that if you peel the outer skin of the portabello off it takes away the rubbery texture, and is easier to eat in a sandwich or a pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Not bad. A little runny, and I used chicken on top instead of the toppings she suggested. I'd cook it longer next time but not bad, I did take out the gills as well. Better texture that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am a vegetarian so I am always looking for easy recipes like this one, and it was great! I topped mine with a jarred mushroom marinara sauce, low fat shredded mozzarella, and peppers. I can't wait to try it with pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This was fantastic!! We made both pepperoni and vegetarian (broccoli, red onion, olive and jalapeno. Delish! Even got a thumbs up from the son who doesn't like mushrooms! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GySgtVsWife
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
D E L I C I O U S! I made these tonight and they came out phenomenal! I read other reviews and was concerned about the water. What I did was remove the stem and gills, baked on 425 for 20 minutes, and then layered on the sauce, cheese, a slice of salami and some pepperoni, then cooked it for an additional 15 minutes. It came out delicious, water was not an issue. It really took me back to one of my favorite pizza spots in San Diego. They've sense closed down because the owner passed away. I've never had pizza that fantastic again. This recipe HIT THE SPOT! Great. Would totally recommend. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GySgtVsWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I am on Weight Watchers and the Simply Filling technique, so this recipe was perfect for me. Unfortunately I didn't read all the reviews first but I did scrape out the gills, just to allow more room for toppings and glad I did. However that being said, it was still watery...I followed the times and temperature to the letter. In my next attempt, I will turn up the heat and pre-bake the mushroom caps for a few minutes longer, I will use olive oil and pizza spice instead of the more watery sauce and will experiment with a few different and additional veggie toppings. This time I used lean deli thinly sliced ham for the meat and 1/3 cup low-fat mozza cheese, which for any WW people out there, amounted to two points on Simply Filling. This was great...cured my craving for pizza and will most definitely be making this again. And on a regular basis! :-) PS...hubby loved it, even though he only got a couple forkfuls...hehe Will need to make more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Tried this a few times, great for South Beach diet fans. My final adaptation is an adoption of one or two of the reviews above. 1) Gill scraping vital, as it allows more toppings, and a drier pizza base. 2) Cook Portobello caps slightly longer to reduce water content 3) Add what you like on a pizza 4) be very careful of the cooking times suggested. If I cooked this for longer than 15 mins in my oven it would be a black dog biscuit. Oven thermometer is on my to do list:-) Many thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Definitely remove the gills. Very yummy and almost guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
The trick to keep the pizza together is to let it cool, almost to room temperature. Still warm but no hot spots. It stays together nicely. I dont precook the mushroom. I cook it on one of those Pizzazz Pizza Oven. IT makes great grill cheese too. U have to tweek the right time but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Veryyyyyy delicious and healthy appetizer. We added the pizza toppings that we like (onions, olives, and green pepper). Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States