Persimmon Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
The cookies were great! My husband totally ate three before they cooled off. I changed the recipe just a little by putting 3 cups of flour instead of 4 cups and used raisins instead of the paste. They are a keeper and will make them again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Great cookie for adults and children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcab09
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
WHOA! Making my own raisin paste in the blender was totally worth it! These things are the bomb--their consistency reminds me of my recipe for pumpkin cookies, but the flavor is totally different--sweet, fruity and I love it! I substituted the shortening w/ 1/2 coconut oil half vegan butter and it worked out fine. Great way to use my persimmons that were getting old :) thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is a wonderful persimmon cookie recipe. Didn't change anything. Everyone loved them. Even my niece who does not like persimmons loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aubrey Bakken
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
THESE COOKIES ARE A LITTLE TASTE OF HEAVEN! I HAVE NEVER TASTED ANYTHING LIKE THEM BEFORE! I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE ALMOST EXACTLY, BUT WITH A LITTLE BIT OF CHANGES. I USED MOSTLY ALL ORGANIC INGREDIENTS, INCLUDING THE PERSIMMONS AND RAISINS. I ALSO USED BROWN RICE FLOUR INSTEAD OF ALL PURPOSE. WHEN I MIXED EVERYTHING UP, THE DOUGH LOOKED LIKE IT MIGHT NEED MORE FLOUR, SO I ADDED ABOUT 1/2 CUP OF ALL PURPOSE FLOUR AND ANOTHER 1/2 CUP OF BROWN RICE FLOUR. THE DOUGH WILL BE VERY STICKY. I ALSO ADDED ABOUT A TABLESPOON OF CHOPPED CANDIED GINGER. OH MY GOSH... YOU HAVE GOT TO TRY THESE! THE FLAVOR IS INDESCRIBABLY GOOD, BUT I'LL TRY. I WOULD SAY THAT THEY ARE MILDLY SWEET WITH A LITTLE SPICY KICK TO THEM. THIS RECIPE IS DEFINITELY A KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Bakken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Loved this recipe. I replaced 1/2 c of the sugar with brown sugar and just used whole raisins. I sprinkle them with powdered sugar while still warm! Pecans instead of walnuts if you have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I loved this one except I put 2 teaspoons of ground cloves, 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. no raisins.,but I did put walnuts. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I only added 3 1/2 cups of flour!!! They are sooo delicous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used butter instead of shortening; 1/2 Brown Sugar and 1/2 molasses instead of white sugar, and added dried cranberries, substituted sesame seeds for walnuts, and added 2TBSP ginger. Frosted with creme cheese frosting (1 brick of creme cheese, 1/2 cup of Amaretto, 3TBSp molasses, and 1/2 cup of powdered coconut milk. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This recipe definitely deserves all the good ratings! The only change I made was to swap raisins for white chocolate chips. The cookie flavor was very good, with just the right amount of sweetness. I was a little nervous while mixing in the dry ingredients, because it was extremely dry. However, once I mixed in the persimmon, it suddenly became cookie dough. Now I can't decide if I am willing to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Kangas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States