Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I altered this recipe slightly, but I loved it. Very pudding-like, less cake like, but that's how I prefer it. Here are the changes I made to make this recipe a little healthier. I used only 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 1/2, 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. I used 1 1/2 cups white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour rather than 2 cups white flour. I couldn't even taste the whole wheat flour, next time I'll probably try half and half. Final change: light butter instead of regular, but I wish I had tried 2 tablespoons applesauce and 2 tablespoons light butter. Also, I did about 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon and think more spices could still be added. All in all, though, I'm very happy with this recipe. It is certainly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was unbelievable. We loved it, all of the kids and especially my husband. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was an extraordinarily delicious recipe. The texture of the pudding does resemble more of a bread pudding, but I found this to be phenomenal and wouldn't change it if I could. I cut back the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and it was still very sweet. It may need extra baking time; wait until it's puffy throughout, has a nice brown color, and a knife comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is the recipe my grandmother used. We had it often, served with whip cream. I can't wait to get some frozen persimmon pulp and make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I have never made anything with persimmons before, but was anxious to try. This was AMAZING. I listened to the reviews and left out a cup of sugar, plus i substituted 1/2 cup of sugar for 1/2 cup of splenda. You could not tell the difference. I also had less than half a can of pumpkin leftover so I threw that into the mix. This was SO good. In fact, as I was attempting to stir every so often throughout cooking my roommate and I ended up using that to take huge bites while it cooked. Seriously SO good. I love the texture of this pudding. Rich, dense, and slighly gooey. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Made this for Christmas. It took closer to 2 hrs to be close to done. reduced the sugar to 2 cups and it was still too sweet. Would try something else to do with the persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I would agree that it is too sweet. Use 1 cup less sugar, but definitely will make it again with that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Once you've found the persimmons, this recipe is super easy and has delicious results! I make it year after year as soon as I find the main ingredient in the grocery store. The finished product is very similar to bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe calls for too much sugar. The results were good but too sweet. I would cut back a full cup of sugar when making it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Wow! My aunt Pam used to make this every year for us when I was a kid. Don't see her as often anymore, so I made this recipe. Very sweet, but delicious. Definately needs whipped topping on it! Mine needed baking an extra 5 minutes, but I also put extra persimmon pulp in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoals, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States