Persimmon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
My husband loved this pie. He grew up eating persimmon cookies every fall made with freshly picked persimmons. This was a nice change. He wouldn't let me give away any of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We really liked this pie, what a great recipe for persimmons! Out of necessity, I substituted one can of condensed sweetened milk plus 1/4 cup 2% milk for the sugar and half-and-half ;which worked fine but was quite sweet. As written would be just right, or maybe even a little less sugar if your persimmons are very ripe (as mine were).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
In Australia we are not big on persimmons. They sell for $1.68 each in the supermarket. Was given some and found this recipe. Yum, best pie I have ever eaten and my 93 year old neighbour agrees with me. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
this pie turned out great. i did use the condensed milk that had been suggested and used splenda and an egg substitute. otherwise followed recipe as given. i did use food processor and pureed the pulp to make very smooth. sister-in-law that normally does not like pumplin like pies said she really liked this. would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious. I used heavy cream instead of half and half and sprinkled fresh pomegranate seeds on top for a bit of tartness to balance out the sweet persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My pie turned out great! Very similar to pumpkin pie. After reading the reviews, I was worried about the texture of the persimmons, so after cutting them into chunks I simmered them for a few minutes until they were soft enough for a fork to puncture--just like I do for mashed potatoes. I also pureed them in the cuisinart til they were very smooth. The persimmon filling was very smooth. Fun alternative for Thanksgiving gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I've used this recipe twice now and both times it came out great! I cut the half and half by a half cup and made my own crust. I had to alter the cooking time a little because of the crust. I ended up cooking it at 400 for 15 mins and 350 for 15 mins give or take a few mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tripeee3
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The typo on half and half throws cooks off as you can read in other reviews. It should be 1/2 cup of half n half and the recipe works or use condensed milk. I also add 1 tsp cornstarch. 2 tbl melted butter and 1 tsp lemon juice with pinch of salt to round out flavor and texture in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tripeee3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of half/half. Adjusted spices to personal prefference. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is really a 5 Star recipe with just a few tweaks. First, I think it really depends on what kind of persimmons you use. I used the southern variety, as I am so blessed to have them growing here in my hometown. Second, I made a graham cracker crust using "Graham Cracker Crust I" from Allrecipes. Third, I skipped the cream (half and half) and used a can of sweetened condensed milk. I am here to tell you this is the NEW pumpkin pie. The only thing I would change in the future is reducing the sugar. The sweetened condensed milk made this pie very sweet, along with those delicious persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Um_Whoops!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States