Persimmon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
My husband loved this pie. He grew up eating persimmon cookies every fall made with freshly picked persimmons. This was a nice change. He wouldn't let me give away any of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was truely the most aweful recipe. It didn't work from the very beginning. First of all, there was too much pie filling left over. Then, the pie didn't even cook in the amount of time that the recipe says. I had to cook it for about 2 hours! I am pretty sure that this recipe calls for way too much half and half. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This was a great way to use up a few persimmons. I chopped them fairly small and was glad I did since they tend to keep their consistency during baking. Also, I added 15 more minutes to the baking and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe definitely took longer to cook than advertised.The first time I tried it exactly as mentioned above, and I think there really was just too much cream. I tried it again with an extra egg and only 1 1/2 cups of half and half and it turned out much better (and cooked much faster). I tried it again using 1 1/2 cups condensed milk (instead of half and half) to try to get a silkier consistency, almost like a Key lime pie. It turned out really well, but now it is a little too sweet. I will try it again with the condensed milk, but I will cut down the sugar (and perhaps use a graham cracker crust)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
In Australia we are not big on persimmons. They sell for $1.68 each in the supermarket. Was given some and found this recipe. Yum, best pie I have ever eaten and my 93 year old neighbour agrees with me. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
this pie turned out great. i did use the condensed milk that had been suggested and used splenda and an egg substitute. otherwise followed recipe as given. i did use food processor and pureed the pulp to make very smooth. sister-in-law that normally does not like pumplin like pies said she really liked this. would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious. I used heavy cream instead of half and half and sprinkled fresh pomegranate seeds on top for a bit of tartness to balance out the sweet persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We really liked this pie, what a great recipe for persimmons! Out of necessity, I substituted one can of condensed sweetened milk plus 1/4 cup 2% milk for the sugar and half-and-half ;which worked fine but was quite sweet. As written would be just right, or maybe even a little less sugar if your persimmons are very ripe (as mine were).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of half/half. Adjusted spices to personal prefference. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I must have done something terribly wrong. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a little more pulp because it was way too runny to cook right. When finished the pie was all watery and runny and seemed to have separated. The flavor was great, texture was grainy and lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States