Persimmon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tripeee3
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The typo on half and half throws cooks off as you can read in other reviews. It should be 1/2 cup of half n half and the recipe works or use condensed milk. I also add 1 tsp cornstarch. 2 tbl melted butter and 1 tsp lemon juice with pinch of salt to round out flavor and texture in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tripeee3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is really a 5 Star recipe with just a few tweaks. First, I think it really depends on what kind of persimmons you use. I used the southern variety, as I am so blessed to have them growing here in my hometown. Second, I made a graham cracker crust using "Graham Cracker Crust I" from Allrecipes. Third, I skipped the cream (half and half) and used a can of sweetened condensed milk. I am here to tell you this is the NEW pumpkin pie. The only thing I would change in the future is reducing the sugar. The sweetened condensed milk made this pie very sweet, along with those delicious persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Um_Whoops!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I've used this recipe twice now and both times it came out great! I cut the half and half by a half cup and made my own crust. I had to alter the cooking time a little because of the crust. I ended up cooking it at 400 for 15 mins and 350 for 15 mins give or take a few mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
The pie tasted good. However, as I feel the recipe is not correct. I followed the recipe to the tee. Not only was there too much filling to fit in a 9 inch pie crust, but after the specified amount of time in the oven it was not cooked at all. I let it cool completely as the recipe specified and still a soupy mess. Will definitely NOT be making this recipe again. Quite a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My pie turned out great! Very similar to pumpkin pie. After reading the reviews, I was worried about the texture of the persimmons, so after cutting them into chunks I simmered them for a few minutes until they were soft enough for a fork to puncture--just like I do for mashed potatoes. I also pureed them in the cuisinart til they were very smooth. The persimmon filling was very smooth. Fun alternative for Thanksgiving gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
aside from the fact that it took an hour and a half to cook this pie is pretty good. i added a little vanille and some brown sugar. and used heavy cream instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Too soft, too grainy, had to cook it longer than recipe suggested. Besides all that, it's tastes blah. The recipe is not saved in my recipe box. Now--onward to baking Persimmon Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This did not turn out well. i followed all the directions and the pie came out bland and did not sit up correctly. it also had to cook more than just 10 min. and then 30 min. it was a lot longer. i won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I must have done something terribly wrong. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a little more pulp because it was way too runny to cook right. When finished the pie was all watery and runny and seemed to have separated. The flavor was great, texture was grainy and lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of half/half. Adjusted spices to personal prefference. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States