Persimmon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe. I used butter instead of shortening and lowered the raisins to 3/4 of a cup, but otherwise these are perfection. They do not flatten out, so I dipped a fork in sugar and flattened them a bit before cooking. 11 minutes cooked them for me. Simply wonderful and very spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
OMG are these good. I used craisins too. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hartpence5
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This one is a keeper! The cookies are delicious, I did change a few things like sub butter for shortening and I used whole wheat flour and I just chopped up the persimmons. I didn't have any cloves or raisins so I didn't add those but I will on the next batch. They are so good I already ate four of them and I haven't even finished baking all of the dough yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartpence5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My father came to visit from Petaluma, CA and brought me persimmons. I had no clue what to do with them. But thanks to allrecipes.com that was not a problem. This recipe yielded some truly excellent cookies, so good that it instantly made me a persimmon lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
very good flavor, some variations I have tried successfully: 1) chopped dried apricots instead of or half and half with raisins 2) black walnuts for real old fashioned americana 3) I hate cloves and always replace with allspice 4) double or even quadruple the ginger! these are a "cakey"soft cookie to get them crunchy and still wholesome 1/2 oats and half flour is also good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Loved it! Made the following changes - made it gluten free by substituting 1 2/3 cup white rice flour and 2/3 cup tapioca starch for the all purpose flour. I also used butter instead of shortening. Used 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup cranberries. Only had just over 1/2 cup persimmon pulp, so added 1/4 cup apple cider. Finally, added the pulp, cider and 1/4 tsp salt to the creamed sugar mixture before adding the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Fabulous! I subbed craisins for the raisins and used the 1.5 diameter cookie scoop. It made 50 cookies. All but 14 are gone before the last batch were even done baking! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are delicious cookies. I have made them twice over the last month. I used pecans and increased by at least a 1/4 cup. I used dried cranberries and increased by about 1/4 cup. I added a some brown sugar and granola to the second batch. I also used a glaze of powered sugar, heavy cream and vanilla. I like the crunch the extra nuts and granola added to the texture. These are yummy either doctored up or as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These are unbelievable! Have made them several times and I can't wait for more persimmons next season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These are the best cookies I have had. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tradanita
Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States