Persimmon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Tasty but retain too much moistness and was soggy the day after. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe was good, I cut the recipe in half, and used 1 egg white, and a little less than 1/2 cup of finely grated walnuts. The cookies turned out nice, but you can t really taste the persimmon at all... I ve never had persimmon cookies before to compare, but i had some persimmons i needed to get rid of... One thing I will add though is that the spoonfuls of dough bake out as they are, so i would suggest flattening them before baking... Other than that quite a good use for an otherwise useless fruit (IMO). :) thx for the recipes and previous reviews...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I found that the cookies weren't as flavorful as I'd hoped. The taste of the persimmon is hard to detect, and is overshadowed by the taste of the spices. I won't be using this recipe again, I just didn't find the cookies to be very special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I didn't think the persimmon flavor came through much, but it has a nice spice flavor. I used cranberries instead of raisins. I also used an egg substitute because I have family members who do not eat eggs. The cookies had a cake-like texture. Kind of like spice cake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I used almonds as the nut, 1/2 white flour 1/2 wheat, splenda for the sugar, and vegetable oil instead of shortening...they didn't really flatten out much after they were dropped onto the cookie sheet but they were still delicious little bites of spicey fruit! I love these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I liked this recipe. Just a quick note to you. Blend the persimmons for what the recipe requires. I choped them and it was fine but more a bar then a cookie. I also baked the cookies at the 12 minute time limit and kept them a little chewy. fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skynelder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Excellent cookies! Everyone loved them. I did change a couple of the ingredients though. Because I didn't have white sugar, raisins, or walnuts, I used turbinado sugar, cranberries and pecans. Great flavor and texture. Thanks Ruth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
My mother-in-law used to make persimmon cookies during the holidays and we couldn't find the recipe. My husband thought these were delicious and gobbled them up. They were equally good when I substituted whole wheat flour and used Splenda for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I added 1 c. raisens - not a very sweet cookie - next time I may squeeze a bit of lemon or vanilla frosting on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Moye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
this is a great recipe,was also easy......thanks ruth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States