Persimmon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made these exactly like the recipe. My children loved them. They are not a crispy cookie. More cake like in texture. The perfect way to use up persimmons and pecans you get from your trees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Very good. Looked like little scones. I doubled the recipe, and they turned out wonderful. Only change was Craisins for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe! Cookies are soft and bite size. Like most everyone else, I made a couple changes. I used Crisco butter shortening, added the ground flax seed because I saw it on another review and thought that was a wonderful idea, however, I still used one egg. I used Stevia in addition to Splenda because I didn't have enough. Also, I used dried cranberries, plus instead of mashed or pureed persimmon, I chopped one cup and pureed the other cup for a double batch. These cookies are not real sweet and one could eat a lot at a time. I like the icing idea from one reviewer and will try that on some of the cookies. mmmmmm:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Great recipe!!!! Taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These cookies are way too cake-like in consistency. I added extra flour to make the batter more like cookie dough and they turned out like little muffins. I added extra cinnamon and left out the cloves. I didn't add raisins or nuts because my kids don't like them. They were a little bland. I would add the nuts and try craisins and put them in muffin cups and they would be much better as a bread like treat instead of a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were wonderful! Didn't have raisins or walnuts, substituted craisins and almonds. Were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is a great recipe! It was my first time making anything with persimmons. I chose this recipe because of all the great reviews. It's definetly a 'keeper' and I will use it again next year! Everyone thought they were great. I made them with craisins and pecans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murphys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I doubled the recipe, the recipe was too wet - more like cake batter, so I had to add a little more flour and a little more baking powder. It could be because the persimmons were too ripe? I also substituted craisins. I chilled the dough a bit to make it easier to use. The resulting cookie is DELICIOUS! However, the cake like texture may be off-putting to others. I think instead of cookies, this would make an excellent bread or muffin recipe. As it is, the cookies are very much like muffin tops. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe and the cookies are delicious. After reading reviews, I used butter instead of shortening, but I also exchanged the raisins to little pieces of force ripend persimmon. This change made them truely "persimmon" cookies. Persimmons can be force ripend by putting them stem (still intact) side down on a cookie sheet lined with paper towel, and pouring just enough whiskey to moisten the whole paper towel. Place all in a plastic bag and seal for one week. Persimmons will be firm, but sweet. Delicious!!! Any whiskey will do, I go for the cheap stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These are amazing!!!! I did change the recipe a little. I only put 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and up the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. I am not a big nutmeg fan and 1/2 tsp seemed a little much. But these are perfect, not too sweet. My children loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States