Persimmon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
very good flavor, some variations I have tried successfully: 1) chopped dried apricots instead of or half and half with raisins 2) black walnuts for real old fashioned americana 3) I hate cloves and always replace with allspice 4) double or even quadruple the ginger! these are a "cakey"soft cookie to get them crunchy and still wholesome 1/2 oats and half flour is also good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Loved it! Made the following changes - made it gluten free by substituting 1 2/3 cup white rice flour and 2/3 cup tapioca starch for the all purpose flour. I also used butter instead of shortening. Used 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup cranberries. Only had just over 1/2 cup persimmon pulp, so added 1/4 cup apple cider. Finally, added the pulp, cider and 1/4 tsp salt to the creamed sugar mixture before adding the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Fabulous! I subbed craisins for the raisins and used the 1.5 diameter cookie scoop. It made 50 cookies. All but 14 are gone before the last batch were even done baking! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are delicious cookies. I have made them twice over the last month. I used pecans and increased by at least a 1/4 cup. I used dried cranberries and increased by about 1/4 cup. I added a some brown sugar and granola to the second batch. I also used a glaze of powered sugar, heavy cream and vanilla. I like the crunch the extra nuts and granola added to the texture. These are yummy either doctored up or as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jane Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These are unbelievable! Have made them several times and I can't wait for more persimmons next season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These are the best cookies I have had. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tradanita
Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made these exactly like the recipe. My children loved them. They are not a crispy cookie. More cake like in texture. The perfect way to use up persimmons and pecans you get from your trees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Robin Darby
Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Very good. Looked like little scones. I doubled the recipe, and they turned out wonderful. Only change was Craisins for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe! Cookies are soft and bite size. Like most everyone else, I made a couple changes. I used Crisco butter shortening, added the ground flax seed because I saw it on another review and thought that was a wonderful idea, however, I still used one egg. I used Stevia in addition to Splenda because I didn't have enough. Also, I used dried cranberries, plus instead of mashed or pureed persimmon, I chopped one cup and pureed the other cup for a double batch. These cookies are not real sweet and one could eat a lot at a time. I like the icing idea from one reviewer and will try that on some of the cookies. mmmmmm:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Great recipe!!!! Taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States