Persimmon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I was a little worried at first because the mixture wasn't creaming. I am so used to adding all of the wet ingredients first, but after I added the pulp, my worries were completely gone. The cookies came out wonderful! This was my first recipe of this kind, and it was a success. Consider this recipe. The flavor and texture are superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Great cookie! I made it for the first time last weekend for a Super Bowl party. I veganized the recipe first by substituting Earth Balance for the shortening, turbinado sugar for the white sugar, 1 TBS ground flaxseed with 3 TBS water for the egg, and whole wheat flour for the A/P flour. I also drizzled icing over the cookies, after baking: organic powdered sugar dissolved with a small amount of almond milk until thick but not too runny. Put into a small ziploc, cut a tiny hole in a corner and drizzle icing over the cookies. Allow to set before serving. The cookies came out moist, fluffy, and not overly sweet. Everyone was impressed, vegetarian and meat-eaters alike. I'd definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
These are delicious! We couldn't stop eating them. The only change I made was to substitute orange-flavored Craisins for the raisins. These cookies are moist and perfectly spiced. Might try with a little lemon glaze next time. Thanks for the keeper, Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Quick & easy recipe to do, and it is are the best persimmon cookie I have ever tasted. Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squishy
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Delicious! Made two batches... Followed Basic Recipe, but added a drizzle of Fresh Lemon Icing...Yum! The citrus soooo compliments the Craisins I used instead of raisins. They don't really spread much, so i pushed them down a bit with a fork dipped in sugar so that they were of even thickness. (Dough was very sticky, is why the fork had to be dipped in sugar) Used a pretty big cookie scooper...probably like a 3-4 TBSP scoop...so they took about 17 min to cook. they kind of looked like smallish scones...but very tender and moist inside. I like a chubby thick cookie instead of flat ones...so for me they were perfect in size,shape and texture...will definitely be making again! Actually tomorrow i will make 2 more batches, cause todays are all gone! Can't wait to share them with even more people! =)))..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squishy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
OMG!!! These are the best. I've never tasted persimmon until today when a friend of mine gave me some Hachiya type after having me taste the Fuyu type, yes, I did some research. I didn't add the nuts as my husband can not have them, and instead of using raisins, I used craisins (cranberry raisins)pretty sweet. Also, I used butter instead of shortening... again, OMG. These are definately going to the cookie exchange this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe was good, I cut the recipe in half, and used 1 egg white, and a little less than 1/2 cup of finely grated walnuts. The cookies turned out nice, but you can t really taste the persimmon at all... I ve never had persimmon cookies before to compare, but i had some persimmons i needed to get rid of... One thing I will add though is that the spoonfuls of dough bake out as they are, so i would suggest flattening them before baking... Other than that quite a good use for an otherwise useless fruit (IMO). :) thx for the recipes and previous reviews...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I used almonds as the nut, 1/2 white flour 1/2 wheat, splenda for the sugar, and vegetable oil instead of shortening...they didn't really flatten out much after they were dropped onto the cookie sheet but they were still delicious little bites of spicey fruit! I love these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe and the cookies are delicious. After reading reviews, I used butter instead of shortening, but I also exchanged the raisins to little pieces of force ripend persimmon. This change made them truely "persimmon" cookies. Persimmons can be force ripend by putting them stem (still intact) side down on a cookie sheet lined with paper towel, and pouring just enough whiskey to moisten the whole paper towel. Place all in a plastic bag and seal for one week. Persimmons will be firm, but sweet. Delicious!!! Any whiskey will do, I go for the cheap stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
My mother-in-law used to make persimmon cookies during the holidays and we couldn't find the recipe. My husband thought these were delicious and gobbled them up. They were equally good when I substituted whole wheat flour and used Splenda for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States