Persimmon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These are so delicious. I made them last year, and I'm going to make them this year again. Everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I love this recipe-these are my husband's favorite cookies. I omit the raisins and walnuts, add a little extra flour and cloves. These are very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
OMG!!! These are the best. I've never tasted persimmon until today when a friend of mine gave me some Hachiya type after having me taste the Fuyu type, yes, I did some research. I didn't add the nuts as my husband can not have them, and instead of using raisins, I used craisins (cranberry raisins)pretty sweet. Also, I used butter instead of shortening... again, OMG. These are definately going to the cookie exchange this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I would have given this five stars if I had halved the raisins. As is, I found it to be easy to make and really tasty but just too many raisins per bite (and I like raisins, but maybe 2/3 to 3/4 cups would still be plenty). Yum yum and a great way to use fresh persimmons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Great cookie! I made it for the first time last weekend for a Super Bowl party. I veganized the recipe first by substituting Earth Balance for the shortening, turbinado sugar for the white sugar, 1 TBS ground flaxseed with 3 TBS water for the egg, and whole wheat flour for the A/P flour. I also drizzled icing over the cookies, after baking: organic powdered sugar dissolved with a small amount of almond milk until thick but not too runny. Put into a small ziploc, cut a tiny hole in a corner and drizzle icing over the cookies. Allow to set before serving. The cookies came out moist, fluffy, and not overly sweet. Everyone was impressed, vegetarian and meat-eaters alike. I'd definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Great Cookies!!! They lasted a long time, were nice and soft and a great spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Tasty but retain too much moistness and was soggy the day after. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe was good, I cut the recipe in half, and used 1 egg white, and a little less than 1/2 cup of finely grated walnuts. The cookies turned out nice, but you can t really taste the persimmon at all... I ve never had persimmon cookies before to compare, but i had some persimmons i needed to get rid of... One thing I will add though is that the spoonfuls of dough bake out as they are, so i would suggest flattening them before baking... Other than that quite a good use for an otherwise useless fruit (IMO). :) thx for the recipes and previous reviews...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I found that the cookies weren't as flavorful as I'd hoped. The taste of the persimmon is hard to detect, and is overshadowed by the taste of the spices. I won't be using this recipe again, I just didn't find the cookies to be very special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I didn't think the persimmon flavor came through much, but it has a nice spice flavor. I used cranberries instead of raisins. I also used an egg substitute because I have family members who do not eat eggs. The cookies had a cake-like texture. Kind of like spice cake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States