Persimmon Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I baked the first batch at 375 and they were too done so after that I baked them at 350. These cookies are delicious, especially if you would like to incorporate a few add-ons the family craves. Enjoy with tea, coffee or milk:) I also decided to buy extra persimmons now that they are in season to mash and freeze for future recipes. I freeze them in batches of 2 persimmons in each Freezer Ziplock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I just finished making two batches...I change nothing, however I did not purée the persimmons. My persimmons were very ripe, and I just left the big pulps and used 1 cup for each batch. We definitely can taste the persimmons. I love it, i freeze the ripe fruit and have them available whole year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Easy & delicious! My very first attempt at baking....ever! Came out yummy & perfect just following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
These are very nice cake-like cookies. They don't spread out if you stick with the recipe, so make them in the shape you want them to be in. They even rise a little. The addition of the vanilla that other reviewers mention is a good improvement, and I cut back on the cloves a bit and added 1/2 tsp ground ginger,mans you can make it without the nuts. Also works well with other fruit and squash purées - substitute 1 cup of whatever for the persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moss Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Excellent cookies. They were soft and cake-like. Didn't really taste the persimmon, they taste just like pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Recipe was very easy to make. And tasty. However mine stayed in a ball form. So they looked more like bite sized balls. Had more of bread consistency than a cookie. The only changes I made was I left out the clove because I didn't have any. And I used a pecan/peanut mixture because that is what I had on hand. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clarksofclarkco
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I don't care for persimmons, but when I got some from our produce co-op, I went looking for recipes. That was three years ago and this has been one of my favorite cookie recipes ever since! I always double the recipe and it bakes 4 dozen with a few extras. I don't add nuts or raisins...my family loves the spicy flavor of the cookies without add-ins. Even a neighborhood friend of my sons' loved them today after I baked my first batch of the season today. They are moist, tasty, flavorful, and just plain delicious! Definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I added raisins. Yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I was given tons of Japanese persimmons in the fall and was at a loss with what to do with them. I froze them as a puree to take out when I needed, but this recipe was perfect! Everyone loved the cookies, and they disappeared very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Easy to make, and delicious. I am in love with persimmons so to be able to turn them into a cookie is a plus for me. Please note when you are placing them on to the cookies sheet you can put them close to each other. I noticed that they do not spread out like chocolate chip cookies do. I wish I had a party to go to so I could takes these.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omc McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States