Persimmon Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Since I found it, this has become my family's favorite cookie recipe! I like to add butterscotch chips instead of walnuts for those who don't like nuts in their cookies. What wonderful cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This is a stellar recipe for hachiya persimmon cookies! I'm bringing these to my family's Thanksgiving festivities, because they are an incredible hit with my neighbors (who I share in the bounty of my backyard persimmon tree) and with my co-workers. I followed the recipe to the "T" and my goodness it is by far the best persimmon cookie I've had since my Tia Maria made them for me as a kid growing up in Chile. Thanks again. PS: for those who don't like these too spicy, take the spices down to 1/4 TS, and the complaint about the "black specks" are due to the ground cloves. If you don't like the appearance of them, don't put that spice in, but the cookie will suffer their fantastic flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I have to give 5 stars based on hubby; I made these at his request, I had never had a persimmon cookie and probably won't try anymore. :) Not my flavor. But he RAVED about them. 3 of my 5 kids loved as well. I subbed pecans instead of walnuts and only put in 1/2 cup sugar. He's already brought home more persimmons to make some more and I only made last night. Thank you for a good recipe that I think is also healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I used 3 ripe persimmons and the persimmon taste was still too subtle for me. Next time, I will add more. (Update - It might have been the persimmons I bought as I've just cut open one to eat and it was gritty in taste. Also, all the cookies turned soft and black the next day but still tasted fine.) I knocked the 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to 1/4 tsp as I find it an overpowering spice. 15 minutes left my first batch almost burnt! I had better results at 12-14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
stop searching this is the best persimmon cookie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. I was out of raisins and used dried cranberries instead. I was also out of walnuts and used 1/2 cup sliced almonds and 1/2 cup oatmeal as a filler. I also didn't have ground cloves and threw in some ground ginger. Very yummy and great with a glass of apple juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My step-daughter HATES persimmons, but I couldn't keep these in the kitchen. In an attempt to keep some in the kitchen I told her they were made with persimmons...she laughed and wouldn't believe me. This was great. I noticed some reviews say the cookies didn't have any taste, remember to use ripe mushy feeling persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I used Splenda instead of sugar resulting in excellent cake like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
The best persimmon cookies ever! I used walnuts as the recipe indicated - excellent! The spicing is excellent as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
These cookies were very good. I used butterscotch chips instead of nuts, but my husband thought they were a little sweet. I'll try walnuts next time. The spices are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States