Persimmon Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
As a vegan I'm always tweaking traditional recipes by substituting plant-based for animal-based ingredients. For this one I substituted canola oil for the butter and about half a banana for the egg. Also, I had an Indian blend spice on hand that consisted of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and anise that I used, adding extra cinnamon. The staff and volunteers at the spay/neuter clinic where I work raved about the cookies, including the omnivores. They couldn't believe they were vegan! Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies are delicious! Spicy and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
First time using persimmons and have become a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These were good but I can't taste the spice as much as i'd like; maybe they will be better tomorrow. I baked them 15 min. for T size cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I just encountered persimmons for the first time, I bought several and tried them by themselves but found them sort of bland. My dad told me that he grew up with a persimmon tree in his yard and his dad would bake persimmon cookies. I tried this recipe first and I will not try any others - this one is amazing!!! They just came out of the oven and I can't stop gobbling them up :) I didn't have any raisins or walnuts, but I did add 1/2 c. of chopped almonds and they turned out beautifully. 15 minutes might have been a bit long, perhaps 13-14 would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Fantastic! I was given persimmons and cooked with them for the first time-this is a perfect recipe! My cookies turned out beautiful,moist,tasty! Hats Off to Patty! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honoring St. Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Great recipe. I'd never baked persimmon cookies before, but this recipe was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I use this recipe, but without the cloves. I also use whole wheat flour and Splenda with great results. I don't like persimmons, but with 2 trees, I had to do something. I do freeze the pulp for later use. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The persimmon/soda mixture turned into a jell after sitting for a few minutes. When I added all of the wet ingredients together the butter broke out into small balls. The cookies,however, turned out fine. I cooked two trays at once and the 2nd tray flattened out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I used 3 ripe persimmons and the persimmon taste was still too subtle for me. Next time, I will add more. (Update - It might have been the persimmons I bought as I've just cut open one to eat and it was gritty in taste. Also, all the cookies turned soft and black the next day but still tasted fine.) I knocked the 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to 1/4 tsp as I find it an overpowering spice. 15 minutes left my first batch almost burnt! I had better results at 12-14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States