Persimmon Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I use this recipe, but without the cloves. I also use whole wheat flour and Splenda with great results. I don't like persimmons, but with 2 trees, I had to do something. I do freeze the pulp for later use. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The persimmon/soda mixture turned into a jell after sitting for a few minutes. When I added all of the wet ingredients together the butter broke out into small balls. The cookies,however, turned out fine. I cooked two trays at once and the 2nd tray flattened out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I used 3 ripe persimmons and the persimmon taste was still too subtle for me. Next time, I will add more. (Update - It might have been the persimmons I bought as I've just cut open one to eat and it was gritty in taste. Also, all the cookies turned soft and black the next day but still tasted fine.) I knocked the 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to 1/4 tsp as I find it an overpowering spice. 15 minutes left my first batch almost burnt! I had better results at 12-14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
We love this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I left out the nuts, but these were really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA
Living In: Olivehurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marci W.
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I rarely bake, RARELY, but got a hold of a couple of Persimmons and found this cookie recipe. Read all the comments, and decided I could do this. I have but one word for you: WOW !!! I am so pleased with myself, they are wonderful, tasty, and hubby gave it two thumbs up. I will make these again, that is for sure. I used a little tiny bit less than the 1/2 teaspoon spices, and reduced the baking time by one minute. The spots in the cookies give them character, and are only the raisins peeking through. I left pieces of pulp in the batter and they show nicely on the cookie, without burning. See photo. Who knew a persimmon cookie could taste SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My step-daughter HATES persimmons, but I couldn't keep these in the kitchen. In an attempt to keep some in the kitchen I told her they were made with persimmons...she laughed and wouldn't believe me. This was great. I noticed some reviews say the cookies didn't have any taste, remember to use ripe mushy feeling persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
A neighbor gave me a huge bag of persimmons and I had no idea how to use them...then my sister invited me to a cookie exchange...I used this recipe and they were a hit. I had to make 12 dozen and the recipe was easy to make. For my personal batch I used a little less spice but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
wow were these ever good! The whole family had a hand in putting these together. I will be sharing these cookies at work tomorrow and i will be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I have to give 5 stars based on hubby; I made these at his request, I had never had a persimmon cookie and probably won't try anymore. :) Not my flavor. But he RAVED about them. 3 of my 5 kids loved as well. I subbed pecans instead of walnuts and only put in 1/2 cup sugar. He's already brought home more persimmons to make some more and I only made last night. Thank you for a good recipe that I think is also healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States