Persimmon Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Disaster! The recipe should've said to blend cream cheese first and then slowly add the persimmon pulp. I tried this to the letter "combine" and the consistency was like ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Good flavor, but too eggy and soggy. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Made this dessert for X-mas. Loved, loved it because it was my first trial utilizing persimmon. Lovely sweet fruit, not overpowering. Cut the recipe down to an 8" spring form. I made it w/ the typical graham cracker crust, but the bottom came out a bit sticky & gooey... made me love it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badthing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by i can't help myself
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I added a picture of one with toffee bits on top...my house smells like heaven and I only had a small lick from my fingertip and it is super yummy...can't wait till it chills! Thank You Thank You. First time I had a persimmon I was 8 and it was a cruel joke b/c it was unripe and super tart, so I haven't touched one since. Then seeing this recipe and having like 12 persimmons from my produce co-op getting ripe on my counter and I intended to give them away. Now I am glad I tried this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Nobody mentioned how HARD it would be to get seeds out of persimmons. I used the small fruit from a neighbors tree. I made the mistake of glopping them into a bowl. Then had to spread them out tablespoon by tablespoon on my hand to de-seed. Second batch I cut individually in half and removed seeds. No way this glop would go thru colander, mine were not runny at all. Cheesecake, however was worth it. Crust delicious and held together (while chilled too) I held back about a cup of persimmons and mixed with caramel sauce, warmed in the microwave and drizzled on top, left off the sour cream. I also cooked it in a water bath. Great recipe for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULESMICHY
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I just made this last night, and it was fantastic. I rarely give a recipe five stars, but this earned it. I disagree with the reviewers who said that it was too runny, or didn't have enough persimmon taste. I didn't strain my persimmon puree at all, and my cheesecake had the perfect, creamy texture and a whole lot of persimmon taste. Since I used a crushed gingersnap cookie crust, I omitted the ginger in the cake and used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg instead. I also didn't do the sour cream topping. Instead I'm serving it with fresh whipped cream. Awesome cheesecake. Can't wait to serve it to my friends tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I loved this cheesecake! Although the persimmon that I used turned out to actually be tomatillos. I was unfamiliar with both foods. The cheesecake was still the best one I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made this recipe and it was fantastic, but a little soggy/runny which is due to the fact that the persimmon puree is really juicy. The only thing I would do differently next time is to drain the liquid from the persimmon puree, just like you would for fresh pumpkin puree before making a pie/pumpkin cheesecake. If you are not familiar with that, just line a collander/strainer with 2-3 sheets of good quality paper towell or cheesecloth and let sit in another bowl over night. You'll be surprised to see the amount of liquid that has drained out into the "catch" bowl. The cheesecake will turn out much better after draining the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Nicholson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Quite tasty. The persimmon flavor was almost too subtle and the cheesecake a bit eggier than I prefer. Next time I'll make extra persimmon puree and save to pour over the top as a garnish for both looks and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fnggrant
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Wonderful recipe and easy to follow. I used gramcracker crust because I don't like walnuts. Tasts great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States