Persimmon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Used rice milk (successfully). Was absolutely delicious with some leftover, reduced mixture of coconut milk/maple syrup/lime juice from another recipe--I whipped this concoction into some sour cream and topped each serving of cake with it. I was thinking raisins would be good in it, but my husband loves how the recipe really highlights the persimmons (which wouldn't be the case if raisins were added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I GOT RAVE REVIEWS! As per other comments, and for health's sake,I made a few adjustments. I used 'whole wheat white' flour,added 1/2 c. oatmeal,and 1 1/2 t. pum.pie spice. To make lighter, I used 3/4 c. egg whites (whipped + folded in at end) and 1/4 c. amaretto.Also, I added 1/4 c. powdered milk. THANKS KMUSGRAVE, FOR THE AWESOME FAT FREE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
OMG this is so moorish! I have to say I think this could be my favorite cake!! Changes: I used wholemeal flour, a tsp cinnamon, and added walnuts on the top rather than icing it. It was superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
my cousin made this cake and the whole family liked it. My 7year old son keeps asking for me to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very Delicious!!! I have baked this cake twice now and I followed the recipe exactly the first time and everyone that has tasted has really liked it. The cake texture is very different than the ususal cake. It is heavy but very moist and not very sweet. The secnd one I baked I forgot to put in the vanilla (not noticeble)and I added 1 c of walnuts. I also used the cream cheese frosting and oh my!! it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a great persimmon cake. I followed the recipe, but made a couple of changes. I added 1 cup of pecans, 1 tsp. cinnamon, used only 1 tsp. vanilla, and substituted 1 cup of Splenda for one of the cups of sugar. I baked the cake in an angel food pan for 1 hr. and 15 min. It came out very moist, almost gooey at the bottom, but I'm sure cooking it longer would have had no effect on the gooeyness. I'll make it again. I do wish I could find a recipe that would produce a more cake like effect. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I will certainly make this cake again. In the recipe I used 1/2 tsp. cinniamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/8 tsp. cloves, I also added 1 cup walnuts, 1 cup raisins and believe me it was extra delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by claudia
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I added a little oil to my milk because I was using 1% milk. Don't think I needed to do that. I baked it in a bundt pan at 325 for 55 minutes. Cake is very moist and very good with the cream cheese icing sprinkled with chopped pecans. Definitely will make it again........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I had some persimmons and no idea what to do with them and I came across this recipe. I am so glad I tried it. It's fantastic! The exterior of the cake is a little thick but not tough and dry. The cake is very moist and dense with a great mild flavor. I was very surprised that the whole family liked it considering it contained a "mystery" ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dee37d
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I really liked the cake. The persimmon cake had good flavor. The only thing I did differently was I used self-rising four and left out the baking power and used a mixer instead of whipping it by hand. I used a bundt pan. And baked at the temp. 325 for aprox. 50 min. and put cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States