Persimmon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very Delicious!!! I have baked this cake twice now and I followed the recipe exactly the first time and everyone that has tasted has really liked it. The cake texture is very different than the ususal cake. It is heavy but very moist and not very sweet. The secnd one I baked I forgot to put in the vanilla (not noticeble)and I added 1 c of walnuts. I also used the cream cheese frosting and oh my!! it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made this with some modifications, since I didn't have a 9x13 loaf pan (had that size in a cake pan, but not loaf): used a bundt cake pan and baked for 40-45 mins at 375. Turned out moist, but heavy. Next time, will only use 1 tsp vanilla (didn't need 2 tsp, felt it was overpowering). Overall, it's a good recipe...especially if you have persimmons that need to be used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was expecting something a bit more like a spiced and dry christmas cake but this came out really nice and moist (hate this word, but its the right word). Made this recipe as is, but instead of cream cheese frosting I made a simple lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze. Will make again with any leftover persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I will certainly make this cake again. In the recipe I used 1/2 tsp. cinniamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/8 tsp. cloves, I also added 1 cup walnuts, 1 cup raisins and believe me it was extra delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by claudia
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I added a little oil to my milk because I was using 1% milk. Don't think I needed to do that. I baked it in a bundt pan at 325 for 55 minutes. Cake is very moist and very good with the cream cheese icing sprinkled with chopped pecans. Definitely will make it again........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a great persimmon cake. I followed the recipe, but made a couple of changes. I added 1 cup of pecans, 1 tsp. cinnamon, used only 1 tsp. vanilla, and substituted 1 cup of Splenda for one of the cups of sugar. I baked the cake in an angel food pan for 1 hr. and 15 min. It came out very moist, almost gooey at the bottom, but I'm sure cooking it longer would have had no effect on the gooeyness. I'll make it again. I do wish I could find a recipe that would produce a more cake like effect. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dee37d
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I really liked the cake. The persimmon cake had good flavor. The only thing I did differently was I used self-rising four and left out the baking power and used a mixer instead of whipping it by hand. I used a bundt pan. And baked at the temp. 325 for aprox. 50 min. and put cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I had some persimmons and no idea what to do with them and I came across this recipe. I am so glad I tried it. It's fantastic! The exterior of the cake is a little thick but not tough and dry. The cake is very moist and dense with a great mild flavor. I was very surprised that the whole family liked it considering it contained a "mystery" ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
this persimmon cake recipe cooks very well in an 8x8 baking dish for 50 minutes at 300 degrees. In contrast, the instructions for this recipe, as of November 2011, call for 1 hour & 15 minutes cook time in a "9x13 loaf pan". This could lead to disaster! Now that the FYIs out of the way, I must say this cake is very good. Like others, I made modifications. I used self rising flour. I used 1.5 cup white sugar and 1/4 golden brown sugar instead of the 2 cups white sugar. I pared down the vanilla from 2 tsp to 1.5 tsp. I added 1 tsp pumpkin spice and 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon. The recipe refers to a cream cheese icing but without a corresponding recipe. IMHO, the cake didn't need it. It has a super moist but mild flavor that could have been overpowered with icing. I preferred the cake with some melted butter and a dash of confectioner's sugar, served warm. Alternately, it works well when served with a dollop of whipped cream. I chose not to remove it from the pan because I didn't frost it. The sides of the cake in the dish were especially yummy because they took on a chewy, moist texture. Had I put 2 cups white sugar I think it would have been over-sweet because my persimmons were extremely ripe. Had I put in a larger quantity of vanilla extract but no spices, I think it would have been good but not "as good". The way I made it suited the tastes of the four people who enjoyed it. I would give it a "5". The way the instructions read, I would rate it a "3".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Not sure what a 9x13 loaf pan is. I used the largest loaf pan I know of (9x5) and the cake did not cook in the middle after 1 hour and 45 minutes. We cut off the cooked ends and ate that - it was tasty (though very, very sweet for my preference) and the texture was good, but I'm not sure how to get it to all cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States