Persimmon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made this with some modifications, since I didn't have a 9x13 loaf pan (had that size in a cake pan, but not loaf): used a bundt cake pan and baked for 40-45 mins at 375. Turned out moist, but heavy. Next time, will only use 1 tsp vanilla (didn't need 2 tsp, felt it was overpowering). Overall, it's a good recipe...especially if you have persimmons that need to be used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very Delicious!!! I have baked this cake twice now and I followed the recipe exactly the first time and everyone that has tasted has really liked it. The cake texture is very different than the ususal cake. It is heavy but very moist and not very sweet. The secnd one I baked I forgot to put in the vanilla (not noticeble)and I added 1 c of walnuts. I also used the cream cheese frosting and oh my!! it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was expecting something a bit more like a spiced and dry christmas cake but this came out really nice and moist (hate this word, but its the right word). Made this recipe as is, but instead of cream cheese frosting I made a simple lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze. Will make again with any leftover persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a great persimmon cake. I followed the recipe, but made a couple of changes. I added 1 cup of pecans, 1 tsp. cinnamon, used only 1 tsp. vanilla, and substituted 1 cup of Splenda for one of the cups of sugar. I baked the cake in an angel food pan for 1 hr. and 15 min. It came out very moist, almost gooey at the bottom, but I'm sure cooking it longer would have had no effect on the gooeyness. I'll make it again. I do wish I could find a recipe that would produce a more cake like effect. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I will certainly make this cake again. In the recipe I used 1/2 tsp. cinniamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/8 tsp. cloves, I also added 1 cup walnuts, 1 cup raisins and believe me it was extra delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Not sure what a 9x13 loaf pan is. I used the largest loaf pan I know of (9x5) and the cake did not cook in the middle after 1 hour and 45 minutes. We cut off the cooked ends and ate that - it was tasty (though very, very sweet for my preference) and the texture was good, but I'm not sure how to get it to all cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Used rice milk (successfully). Was absolutely delicious with some leftover, reduced mixture of coconut milk/maple syrup/lime juice from another recipe--I whipped this concoction into some sour cream and topped each serving of cake with it. I was thinking raisins would be good in it, but my husband loves how the recipe really highlights the persimmons (which wouldn't be the case if raisins were added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I GOT RAVE REVIEWS! As per other comments, and for health's sake,I made a few adjustments. I used 'whole wheat white' flour,added 1/2 c. oatmeal,and 1 1/2 t. pum.pie spice. To make lighter, I used 3/4 c. egg whites (whipped + folded in at end) and 1/4 c. amaretto.Also, I added 1/4 c. powdered milk. THANKS KMUSGRAVE, FOR THE AWESOME FAT FREE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
my cousin made this cake and the whole family liked it. My 7year old son keeps asking for me to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
i made this exactly according to the recipe excpet i used 2 tsp of baking powder and no baking soda because i did not have any baking soda. It was more of a pudding than cake. It was delicious and my husband and mother-in-law loved it so much. Please tell me what I can do to make it come out like cake next time. Did me not having the baking soda make that much difference??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marieeeee

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States