Persimmon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This cake is soooo delicious. BUT (and its a big but)... pulping persimmons stinks!! I nearly called it quits halfway thru the pulping. Glad I stuck with it, but next time I will make someone else pulp. The cake is super moist (I made it in a 9 X 13 baking pan). I frosted it with cream cheese frosting which was great. But cake would have been fine without it too. My super picky kids scarfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Great! Had persimmons and didn't know what to do with them. Very moist and tasty! Added cinnamon, allspice and ground ginger to taste, plus a handful of raisins I had been trying to use up. I think this would be rather bland without the spices but I could go either way on the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
AWESOME! I've made persimmon 'pudding' for years, and this will now take it's place. I was trying to finish off some persimmon pulp, so added an extra 1/2 cup into this recipe, then after reading other's comments, aso added an extra egg and extra 1/4 c. flour to make a little more 'cake-y.' I also omitted the vanilla and just added a little extra spice in it's place. It was perfect!!! I won't change a thing next time. We ate it plain- no icing, no whipped cream, nothing- it was delicious on its own. Thanks for sharing this recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
this persimmon cake recipe cooks very well in an 8x8 baking dish for 50 minutes at 300 degrees. In contrast, the instructions for this recipe, as of November 2011, call for 1 hour & 15 minutes cook time in a "9x13 loaf pan". This could lead to disaster! Now that the FYIs out of the way, I must say this cake is very good. Like others, I made modifications. I used self rising flour. I used 1.5 cup white sugar and 1/4 golden brown sugar instead of the 2 cups white sugar. I pared down the vanilla from 2 tsp to 1.5 tsp. I added 1 tsp pumpkin spice and 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon. The recipe refers to a cream cheese icing but without a corresponding recipe. IMHO, the cake didn't need it. It has a super moist but mild flavor that could have been overpowered with icing. I preferred the cake with some melted butter and a dash of confectioner's sugar, served warm. Alternately, it works well when served with a dollop of whipped cream. I chose not to remove it from the pan because I didn't frost it. The sides of the cake in the dish were especially yummy because they took on a chewy, moist texture. Had I put 2 cups white sugar I think it would have been over-sweet because my persimmons were extremely ripe. Had I put in a larger quantity of vanilla extract but no spices, I think it would have been good but not "as good". The way I made it suited the tastes of the four people who enjoyed it. I would give it a "5". The way the instructions read, I would rate it a "3".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
What a lovely recipe and a great way to use extra persimmon's lying around getting ripe. Agree with some of the other reviewers - the sugar was a tad much and 1 1/2 cups was more than sufficient. I added raisins which complimented the cake well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
OMG this is so moorish! I have to say I think this could be my favorite cake!! Changes: I used wholemeal flour, a tsp cinnamon, and added walnuts on the top rather than icing it. It was superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dee37d
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I really liked the cake. The persimmon cake had good flavor. The only thing I did differently was I used self-rising four and left out the baking power and used a mixer instead of whipping it by hand. I used a bundt pan. And baked at the temp. 325 for aprox. 50 min. and put cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I had some persimmons and no idea what to do with them and I came across this recipe. I am so glad I tried it. It's fantastic! The exterior of the cake is a little thick but not tough and dry. The cake is very moist and dense with a great mild flavor. I was very surprised that the whole family liked it considering it contained a "mystery" ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by claudia
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I added a little oil to my milk because I was using 1% milk. Don't think I needed to do that. I baked it in a bundt pan at 325 for 55 minutes. Cake is very moist and very good with the cream cheese icing sprinkled with chopped pecans. Definitely will make it again........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
i made this exactly according to the recipe excpet i used 2 tsp of baking powder and no baking soda because i did not have any baking soda. It was more of a pudding than cake. It was delicious and my husband and mother-in-law loved it so much. Please tell me what I can do to make it come out like cake next time. Did me not having the baking soda make that much difference??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marieeeee

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States