Persimmon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Moist but just right. Great as a cake or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Sorry nothing about this cake worked for us - flavor, texture. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Came out great! I used a well-greased and floured Bundt pan. I added chopped walnuts, cinnamon, and allspice. Cooked it about 10 minutes longer because the toothpick came out wet. Dark and moist. Super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
My 3yo granddaughter really likes this cake. With or without icing, it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Wow, fantastic. I read many reviews and decided to go with the original recipe rather than reduce the sugar the first time out. It tasted incredibly good! I loved it. I did like one reviewer's suggestion of a lemon glaze, so I did that while it was still warm & it made an amazing chewy crust that was out of this world. I did a nutrition analysis on this, & with the recipe as-is and a glaze that uses 2 T of butter, it still comes out to only 7% fat, which is really great (I'm not one of those Atkins proponents, lol). I didn't add any nuts or anything. The only thing I would change for next time would be to leave more chunks of actual persimmon. Mine were VERY ripe and practically liquid when I used them (I had frozen them after they were ripe). Maybe if they aren't quite so ripe I'll have a little more control over that. I did this in a bundt pan at 325 with convection for 65 minutes, and it was perfect. I didn't add spices at all, didn't want it to seem totally Christmas-y, though around the holidays I might consider that or topping with some pecans. Really great. Oh, & BTW. I have a great Nordicware bundt pan, but from time to time I've had trouble with it releasing. I was worried about that because there was almost no fat in this recipe, but I didn't have any problems with my greasing mixture: 1/3 oil, 1/3 shortening, 1/3 flower (any amounts, just keep the proportions the same). Beat that together & "paint" it on with a basting brush. Works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very Delicious! My company loved it! Next time I would leave some of the pulp in chunks to show the beautiful color of the persimmon and add 1 1/tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/2 tsp cloves. I only used 1 1/2 cups sugar and a 1/2 cup brown sugar. I baked it in a bundt pan and iced the cake with cream cheese frosting on the top of the cake only. This is a very moist and dense cake. Also great with a morning cup of tea or coffee. Enjoy! mak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
As per another reviewer I cut the vanilla down to 1 teaspoon but I might even use less if I make this again. Also, it was VERY sugary sweet. I will cut the sugar to 1 c.. I baked in a bundt pan at 375 for 45 minutes and then 325 for 15 minutes and it came out perfect and just fell out of the pan after cooling for 15 minutes. My kids didn't care for the cake but my husband and I enjoyed it. Note: 6 persimmons = 2 cups pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Moist, soggy. No flavor. No interesting taste, just blah. I like to taste a flavor, such as pumpkin, banana. But this is just nothing - I don't think that even nuts, raisins, etc would help. I learned to avoid persimmons, and avoid this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This cake is soooo delicious. BUT (and its a big but)... pulping persimmons stinks!! I nearly called it quits halfway thru the pulping. Glad I stuck with it, but next time I will make someone else pulp. The cake is super moist (I made it in a 9 X 13 baking pan). I frosted it with cream cheese frosting which was great. But cake would have been fine without it too. My super picky kids scarfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Great! Had persimmons and didn't know what to do with them. Very moist and tasty! Added cinnamon, allspice and ground ginger to taste, plus a handful of raisins I had been trying to use up. I think this would be rather bland without the spices but I could go either way on the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States