Persimmon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This bread is moist and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the spices. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and a dash of cloves. Also, it was beautiful and brown after 50 mins of baking. I did use a dark, nonstick loaf pan. My oven temperature is usally quite accurate. It was the first time I've used persimmons in baking. My neighbor shared some from her garden. Now I'm anxious to get more so I can make more of this delicious bread. I read that you can freeze persimmon pulp so I'd like to do that and be able to make this even when they're not in season. Thank you v monte for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Great recipe. I've made this twice. The first time around, it was fruit-cake like, except not disgusting like the store-bought variety. I added 1 1/2 cups (combined) dried apricots, raisins, dates, and candied ginger, the zest of 1 whole orange, and 1/2 tsp each nutmeg, cloves, and cardammom. The second time, I wanted a more persimmon flavor (the bread has no persimmon flavor as written). I added added 1 1/2 cups chopped ripe fresh unpeeled persimmon, 1/2 cup dried dates, and 3/4 cup chopped walnuts, with as much spices as the first time. It was the perfect amount of spice for me. The 2nd time around, I also replaced white with whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup brown sugar rather than the suggested amount of white sugar. The result was a much stronger persimmon flavor and a moist bread, despite the subtracted sugar. I also find it easier to mix in the nuts and dried fruit right before pouring the batter into the pan rather than with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Very tasty bread. My friend gave me some persimmons and I didn't know what to do with them. I found this recipe. To make the fruit pulp, I diced the fruit and then put it in the blender. I also used golden raisins instead of regular raisins, because I thought the color would look nice and I also think they have more flavor than regular raisins. I would definitely recommend this recipe if you are looking for something to do with persimmons! My husband also liked the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! As the recipient of a bag full of persimmons off a friend's tree, this was much appreciated! I made one loaf, and it turned out great! I did change the amount of oil to 1/3 cup and added 1/2 extra persimmon. I will keep this on hand and bake 2 more loaves tomorrow! (I cut and peeled the persimmons and mashed them along with oil, eggs, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, sugar in the blender). Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
VERY easy to assemble. (I don't understand how the first reviewer had trouble; the recipe is quite clear.) I made MANY dozen mini loaves (35 min baking time) for Holiday gifts this year. The flavor of the result is wonderful and balanced. Of course, I added another 1/4 cup all purpose flour, 1/2 cup diced dates, 1 tsp dried grated orange peel, and 1/2 tsp each ground mace and ground allspice to punch up the flavor. I'm already receiving raves from the recipients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Nice recipe. Often I will reduce the sugar in breads and cakes, because they're too sweet for friends and family here in Japan. This recipe is an exception. Cutting back on the sugar, if anyone else is thinking about it, may not be the best idea. I made two versions and it was definitely better with the full amount. That said, I like that it has a real bread flavor (as opposed to cake). I gave it a 4, because I think it could have used some more of the spices. It was a little bland. Next time, I think I'll add a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice as well. All in all, pretty good. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
Wonderful delicious bread. Very moist. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I have never had persimmon bread before and my neighbor has a tree just loaded with them each year I get some to make the cookies so this year he asked if I would make him some bread I found this recipe and my neighbor is a diabetic so I made some changes. Where you use 3cups of sugar I used 3 cups of Splenda and Ialso changed 3 cups allpurpose flour to Gold Medal Speciality Flour thats better for bread baking. I increased the walnuts to 1- 1/2cups and added 1-1/2 cups of rasins Instead of greasing the pans I Pam them. That is so good and my neighbor really likes it. Oh, so did my mom. Looks like I will be making this all the time as long as the persimmons hold out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsay, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe!!!! I was looking for something new for my family to try and had grabbed some persimmons from the grocery store. I used 3 large persimmons and left things a bit chunky for a more rustic look and great tase. I also did mini loaves and everyone seems to really enjoy them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
My Husband is hooked on this. And my Mother in Law changed her mind about cutting the Persimmon Tree down. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States