Persimmon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I'd never even eaten a persimmon before and I made this bread. Turned out great! I added a drizzle of white frosting over the top and that just made it awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianAndAli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Make MUFFINS-- I rate this 5 because it's a great thing to make when you've got persimmons coming out your ears, but I would never BUY persimmons to make these. I used 1/2 brown sugar, added 1/2 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and then baked in paper muffin cups at 325 for about 35 minutes. Makes about 18 medium-size muffins. Perfect for snacking with tea or for breakfast. Next time I might add coconut, dates, or dried cranberries or apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe was great, BUT, I'm sure glad I only set the timer to 55 minutes instead of 75. It was on the verge of burning up. I think I will keep an eye on it after 40 minutes. Other than that it was a delicious extremely sweet bread (I may also cut the sugar next time too.), everyone loved even though it was well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I have never had persimmon bread before and my neighbor has a tree just loaded with them each year I get some to make the cookies so this year he asked if I would make him some bread I found this recipe and my neighbor is a diabetic so I made some changes. Where you use 3cups of sugar I used 3 cups of Splenda and Ialso changed 3 cups allpurpose flour to Gold Medal Speciality Flour thats better for bread baking. I increased the walnuts to 1- 1/2cups and added 1-1/2 cups of rasins Instead of greasing the pans I Pam them. That is so good and my neighbor really likes it. Oh, so did my mom. Looks like I will be making this all the time as long as the persimmons hold out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsay, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
WOW! This was delicious! I like most came across some Persimmons as a gift and now I am going to start seeking them out just to make this recipe!! Didn't change anything made as given and just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Very moist and flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! As the recipient of a bag full of persimmons off a friend's tree, this was much appreciated! I made one loaf, and it turned out great! I did change the amount of oil to 1/3 cup and added 1/2 extra persimmon. I will keep this on hand and bake 2 more loaves tomorrow! (I cut and peeled the persimmons and mashed them along with oil, eggs, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, sugar in the blender). Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Made this for my husband's work - they loved it. Said it was better than Banana Bread! Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe!!!! I was looking for something new for my family to try and had grabbed some persimmons from the grocery store. I used 3 large persimmons and left things a bit chunky for a more rustic look and great tase. I also did mini loaves and everyone seems to really enjoy them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was delicious! You can't really taste the persimmon, but it adds moisture and sweetness. Perhaps I'll try adding a little nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States