Persimmon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made this and added 1/2 cup nor of the persimmon pulp to sweeten the bread. Really good moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great reciepe it was gone in five minutes I will be making this again. I got lots of compliments. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
excellent! My family had never tasted persimmons before; someone gave me a baf full of them and this was a great intro...kids ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Replace 1/4 cup of sugar with applesauce and add currants and dark chocolate chips! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allan
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe but floured the pan after applying a thin coating of butter. It did not stick to the pan. It tasted like a good spice cake but had very little persimmons flavor which was disappointing. Good to use if you have extra persimmons to use before going bad. I used "Sweet Pumpkin Persimmons" which are meaty,sweet, and don't need to be ripened. The bread is dark and looks burnt but does not taste burnt and is moist. This is a lot of work for a spice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Wonderful recipe except needing to add "dash of cloves & 1/2 tsp nutmeg" otherwise great I also pealed and boiled the persimmons for about 20 min an put in blender... Also put a cream cheese frosting on there come out so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Excellent I added 1tsp nutmeg and chopped almonds, very good, it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Very good recipe! I bake it in my bread machine so takes very little effort on my part. I do the recipe almost as written but add a little nutmeg and cloves. Also have added just a little more pulp than called for if there is just a little left over from my frozen pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Sumptuous and moist. Higher on the yummy scale than any banana bread I've ever made. I used Splenda instead of sugar, for my diabetic Uncle. Don't cut the persimmon pieces too small - it's a bonus to get a nice chunk of persimmon in your slice! Cannot wait till next winter when our persimmons ripen on the tree, so that I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is my favorite way to eat persimmons! I doubled it and baked it in two 8in. round pans. I did modify it though to make it gluten free: I used (for a doubled recipe) 1 1/4 c. millet flour, 1 1/4 c. rice flour, 1/2 c. tapioca starch, plus, 1 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum, and only 1 c. sugar instead of 1 1/2 c. I always use less sugar in my baking and things turn out fine. I will make this again and would like to try layering the cakes with cream cheese frosting. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FastGirl

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States