Persimmon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious. I am going to try making it using frozen persimmons next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe and similar to my mother's. We live in NC and have the small American persimmons that are on old trees so tall that we have to let them fall, collect them and put them through a food mill to extract the pulp and remove the seeds. I freeze measured cups of pulp, which is enough to make two smaller loaves of persimmon bread. The flavor is so delicate I don't like to add much spice, so this recipe is excellent, but instead of cinnamon I add a small amount of crystallized ginger (1/3 cup) which is a good match for the persimmon and adds texture. I use 1 1/2 cups of butter instead of oil and 2 cups of flour. I give these as Christmas presents since very few people know its flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I love this recipe. I tried it with pureed pulp, but it didn't rise as well. I also made it without pureeing the pulp and this is how it should be done. I made small loaves (4 per recipe). These took 35-40 minutes @ 325. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
The first time I made this bread I thought that 75 minutes sounded ridiculously long, so I put the bread in for 60 minutes, planning to test it from there. After 60 minutes the bread was burnt. Made it a second time and it was done somewhere between 45 and 50 minutes. Moral of the story - check it early!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I lost my grandmother's recipe and landed on this one. At the last moment I realized I didn't have enough white flour so I ended up making this with 1/3 part white and 2/3 part whole wheat. I also ditched the nuts and used 1/2 cup white sugar instead of 3/4 cup, though I added about 1/4 of apple sauce to supplement the sugar. Then, I decided to make these into muffins instead of bread and baked them for about 35 minutes (makes 12 muffins). They came out absolutely delicious, and for some reason, like soup, were even better the next day. They froze and reheated very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Tasted good! Didn't have much persimmon flavor, which is my preference - I have a persimmon tree so I was trying to be good and use them up even though I don't particularly care for the flavor of the fruit. This was very easy to make. I added about a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and subbed dried cranberries for raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
The list of ingredients is out of order. You should add the soda to the persimmon pulp first. o not just oil the pan, it sticks. I spray with Pam baking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Nice recipe! I baked mine as muffins and used half unbleached flour and half whole wheat, just a tad dry, but that was my bad. I had 17 muffins and they baked about 18 minutes-next time I'll take them out at 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious and moist. I left out the raisins because the persimmons made it moist enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States