Persimmon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tdelg00
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
First time baking persimmon bread, my friends were blown away. They really thought I had bought it at the bakery. Besides the walnut I tossed in half cup of raisin cranberry. This will be my go to bread when my buddy's overload me with persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdelg00

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Didn't include raisins or nuts. Added 1 tsp of all spice and subsituted oil for 1/2 cup of apple sauce it turned out very moist and delicious. This will become a regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Loved this, and in fact I'm eating some now as i type. I made 8 mini loaves of persimmon bread. I used 2 Fuyu persimmons (which really aren't the "baking" kind but they were what I had and good anyway) and buzzed them in the blender as someone suggested with the wet ingredients. I cut up a 3rd persimmon sort of finely and put that in too for more flavor. I added in BIG dried cherries and craisins for texture, as I don't like nuts and my mother hates raisins. I used 1/2 cup light brown sugar and 1/4 white instead of all white sugar. Very moist and delicious, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Very moist and delish! Great way to use all these persimmons. I'll be making more of this for gifts. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very good recipe. However, a bit health conscious, and felt this yielded a more moist bread, with more flavors Modifications 1/8 tsp All Spice 1/4 tsp nutmeg 1/3 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup 1 1/2 cups persimmon (another 1/2 tsp baking soda) 1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe and my bread turned out delicious and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Spade
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Simple recipe. DELICIOUS results! Moist and great with Pumpkin Spice coffee! I didn't have raisins at the time so I substituted with craisins. Even someone who doesn't like persimmons was skeptical and anticipated disliking it. She tried it and really liked it! I added half an apple and orange zest to the persimmon pulp! Mmm...! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Spade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I did do a couple substitutes. I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 vegetable oil(i used grapeseed) and 1/2 whole grain flour(I used Spelt). It turned out amazing, our family couldn't stop eating it! Next time I am going to cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup to make it a little less sweet because I like my bread a little less sweet than most people. It was very moist and excellent with walnuts and raisens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Easy & delicious. It was very moist & smells like fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made this and added 1/2 cup nor of the persimmon pulp to sweeten the bread. Really good moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States