Persimmon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tristan Lemme
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This bread has a nice flavor and is sweet and moist. 4/5 stars because I feel like it comes out very dense- next time I might add a teaspoon of baking powder to the recipe and see if it lightens it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Lemme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shae Butta Weaver
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
just made this! soooo good! can't wait to have with coffee for Christmas tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae Butta Weaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ellenwood, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tdelg00
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
First time baking persimmon bread, my friends were blown away. They really thought I had bought it at the bakery. Besides the walnut I tossed in half cup of raisin cranberry. This will be my go to bread when my buddy's overload me with persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdelg00

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Didn't include raisins or nuts. Added 1 tsp of all spice and subsituted oil for 1/2 cup of apple sauce it turned out very moist and delicious. This will become a regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Loved this, and in fact I'm eating some now as i type. I made 8 mini loaves of persimmon bread. I used 2 Fuyu persimmons (which really aren't the "baking" kind but they were what I had and good anyway) and buzzed them in the blender as someone suggested with the wet ingredients. I cut up a 3rd persimmon sort of finely and put that in too for more flavor. I added in BIG dried cherries and craisins for texture, as I don't like nuts and my mother hates raisins. I used 1/2 cup light brown sugar and 1/4 white instead of all white sugar. Very moist and delicious, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Very moist and delish! Great way to use all these persimmons. I'll be making more of this for gifts. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very good recipe. However, a bit health conscious, and felt this yielded a more moist bread, with more flavors Modifications 1/8 tsp All Spice 1/4 tsp nutmeg 1/3 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup 1 1/2 cups persimmon (another 1/2 tsp baking soda) 1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe and my bread turned out delicious and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Spade
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Simple recipe. DELICIOUS results! Moist and great with Pumpkin Spice coffee! I didn't have raisins at the time so I substituted with craisins. Even someone who doesn't like persimmons was skeptical and anticipated disliking it. She tried it and really liked it! I added half an apple and orange zest to the persimmon pulp! Mmm...! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Spade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I did do a couple substitutes. I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 vegetable oil(i used grapeseed) and 1/2 whole grain flour(I used Spelt). It turned out amazing, our family couldn't stop eating it! Next time I am going to cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup to make it a little less sweet because I like my bread a little less sweet than most people. It was very moist and excellent with walnuts and raisens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States