Persimmon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Quite tasty. I followed ELSCHMOOCK's suggestions and it came out great. A nice blend of flavors and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made it exactly as printed and my husband said the bars are the best, we like the spices in it - think the glaze really adds to the flavor - will definitely go out and collect more persimmons this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
So delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I added 1/2 tsp. Of vanilla. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good!! I didn't have cloves, but otherwise followed it exactly and it was wonderful. Will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
These persimmon bars are the BOMB!!! I followed the recipe exactly but I doubled everything and baked it in a parchment lined 24"x14" baking sheet. I used fresh lemon juice in the batter with the zest of the whole lemon. I iced it immediately after it came out of the oven. DELLICIOUS AND SUPER MOIST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Wow! That's what my taste buds screamed when biting into these! The lemon icing is supreme! I will use it on other recipes too. The only alterations I made were the following: 1. I used half whole wheat flour and half white. 2. I added 1/2 cup raisins. Thank you for the great recipe Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Turned out good. Kids didn't want to try it, but once they tried it they all 3 liked it. Skipped the nuts and the glaze. 1/1/13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this last night and can't stop eating these bars. I don't own a jelly roll pan so I put them in a 9" square brownie-type of glass dish. The bars are about 1.25 inches deep and it took 40-45 minutes to bake, not 20. Only changes were no walnuts, swapped out cloves for 1/8 tsp ground cardamom, added 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Used golden raisins. Also, I put almond slices on top of glaze. It took 3 persimmons to get the cup. I had to microwave them to mash, and then let cool. That part took a while and some effort. So good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
More like a spice cake. Couldn't taste the persimmons but that didn't bother us! All the neighborhood kids loved them. I had a huge bag of persimmons given to us so I froze the extra puree and would make this recipe again. It took a little time to get it pushed around the pan evenly and cooked in a little over 12 min. Didn't have lemons but had limes. It made a pleasant tartness on top of the sweet bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States