Persimmon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good!! I didn't have cloves, but otherwise followed it exactly and it was wonderful. Will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
These persimmon bars are the BOMB!!! I followed the recipe exactly but I doubled everything and baked it in a parchment lined 24"x14" baking sheet. I used fresh lemon juice in the batter with the zest of the whole lemon. I iced it immediately after it came out of the oven. DELLICIOUS AND SUPER MOIST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Wow! That's what my taste buds screamed when biting into these! The lemon icing is supreme! I will use it on other recipes too. The only alterations I made were the following: 1. I used half whole wheat flour and half white. 2. I added 1/2 cup raisins. Thank you for the great recipe Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Turned out good. Kids didn't want to try it, but once they tried it they all 3 liked it. Skipped the nuts and the glaze. 1/1/13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this last night and can't stop eating these bars. I don't own a jelly roll pan so I put them in a 9" square brownie-type of glass dish. The bars are about 1.25 inches deep and it took 40-45 minutes to bake, not 20. Only changes were no walnuts, swapped out cloves for 1/8 tsp ground cardamom, added 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Used golden raisins. Also, I put almond slices on top of glaze. It took 3 persimmons to get the cup. I had to microwave them to mash, and then let cool. That part took a while and some effort. So good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
More like a spice cake. Couldn't taste the persimmons but that didn't bother us! All the neighborhood kids loved them. I had a huge bag of persimmons given to us so I froze the extra puree and would make this recipe again. It took a little time to get it pushed around the pan evenly and cooked in a little over 12 min. Didn't have lemons but had limes. It made a pleasant tartness on top of the sweet bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
How funny that this is the same recipe that my great grandma used to make persimmon cookies. Her recipe has an extra half cup of flour. I actually like it better than the cake-like cookie. A lot easier too. No nuts and no glaze and I prefer 1/8 teaspoon clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
These were very moist for days and I had never had a persimmon before and didn't know what to do with it - so thanks for adding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made these without raisins since I don't care for them. Someone had given me dates and I used those instead. They were delicious! Next holiday season I may experiment with dried cranberries. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
AWESOME !!! They were the hit of the Thanksgiving dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vhall42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lefor, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States