Persian Sabzi Polo (Herb Rice with Fava Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This comment is from the author of Persian Sabzi Polo. I apologize for not telling you what to do with the oil. I usually first bring the water to boil, then add the rice and let it boil until the rice rises to the top. Then I drain the rice, add 2 or 3 Tablespoons of oil mixed with half a cup of water in the pot before I mix the other ingredients with the rice and put it back into the pot. Then I cook the rice on medium heat for 5 minutes and then reduce the heat and cook the rice for the remaining time already mentioned in the original recipe. I hope this helps in motivating more people to make this dish. Viostars idea of mixing the oil with the rice and herbs is also good. Note: You can use lima beans from the freezer section in your grocery store instead of fresh fava beans. Thank you....Neda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I have a persian husband and have made this several times and have tweaked it each time and I think I've come up with the perfect version that guests can't stop talking about. I cook the rice with butter and chicken stock and dried onion. When it's done I add fresh chopped dill and parsley, canned fava beans and salt and pepper. Fresh herbs taste better than boiled herbs!! It's simple and everyone who tries it at my house loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I love Sabzi Polo! When I prepare the rice I rinse it then put it in boiling water for 5-8 minutes, drain rice in a strainer, dry pot out with a towel and pour the vegetable oil on the bottom, mix rice with herbs & favas then transfer rice to pot and cook on low for 45 minutes. Make sure to wrap a towel around the pot lid so it absorbs the water that would fall back in the rice otherwise, try it trust me it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My Persian/Iranian husband recently passed away but he left us some wonderful dishes including this one. He used the towel over the pot before replacing the lid method which helped form the tadig perfectly. Before sealing the pot with the towel, he would mound the rice and dill mixture up into a "hill" in the pot and sprinkle quite a bit of turmeric on top making a golden surface to the hill. He said it is traditional for each person to get some of the tadig to crunch along with the softer rice. I miss him greatly and cook his "legacies" often. My very American son is addicted to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
This is delicious! To answer ur question Flix..the oil is to be mixed with the rest of the ingredients all together, and you can also use butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
To all those that are having a hard time getting the rice from the bottom of the pot can use this little secret...Once that crispy rice/tadik is done run some cold water in the sink and put the bottom of your hot pan in it...It will be much easier to remove .......... I gave it four stars because i hate sabzi pollo but my family loves it so ...its a good recipe...but one star goes for my hatred of it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reza Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe a while ago, and I thought it was a good Persian rice dish. But, I noticed that one person used dried beans? Dried bean have to be soaked overnight and also cooked before you can do anything with them! Unfortunately they gave the recipe one star for having a failed recipe when they used, hard dried beans. And the rice is supposed to be slightly stuck, I usually just slide something under it and then place it back on top of the serving dish of rice. Does anyone have any tips to offer for the best crust? ie: type of pan/wrapping lid in a tea towel?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I made this recipe with brown rice instead of white (personal preference). It tasted great! I think I might try it next time with fresh herbs added at the end (instead of during the cooking process).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Yummy! Reminds me of the rice that my Iranian neighbors used to make for me - love the crispy part! Thanks so much, I have been looking for a recipe like this for quite some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
My friend's mother used to make this, and I have looked for a long time for the recipe. Thanks! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States