Persian Sabzi Polo (Herb Rice with Fava Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
To all those that are having a hard time getting the rice from the bottom of the pot can use this little secret...Once that crispy rice/tadik is done run some cold water in the sink and put the bottom of your hot pan in it...It will be much easier to remove .......... I gave it four stars because i hate sabzi pollo but my family loves it so ...its a good recipe...but one star goes for my hatred of it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reza Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This did not work for me at all! The rice was hard and dry at the end of the cooking time. I tried adding more water and simmering it longer but it just ended up gummy on the outside and crunchy on the inside. During the first boil is the lid supposed to be on? Maybe that is where the trouble started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I love Sabzi Polo! When I prepare the rice I rinse it then put it in boiling water for 5-8 minutes, drain rice in a strainer, dry pot out with a towel and pour the vegetable oil on the bottom, mix rice with herbs & favas then transfer rice to pot and cook on low for 45 minutes. Make sure to wrap a towel around the pot lid so it absorbs the water that would fall back in the rice otherwise, try it trust me it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe a while ago, and I thought it was a good Persian rice dish. But, I noticed that one person used dried beans? Dried bean have to be soaked overnight and also cooked before you can do anything with them! Unfortunately they gave the recipe one star for having a failed recipe when they used, hard dried beans. And the rice is supposed to be slightly stuck, I usually just slide something under it and then place it back on top of the serving dish of rice. Does anyone have any tips to offer for the best crust? ie: type of pan/wrapping lid in a tea towel?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Quite delicious! The dill overpowered other herbs but was very interesting overall. Made a lot too (even though I made 1/4th of the recipe given)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Rice was good but was slightly dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
My friend's mother used to make this, and I have looked for a long time for the recipe. Thanks! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Disaster. Recipe should say that fava beans were FRESH. ugh :( I used dry ones. The rice tasted ok but I'm really annoyed about the bean situation. Plus the rice on the bottom of the pan is a real pain to get out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I made this recipe with brown rice instead of white (personal preference). It tasted great! I think I might try it next time with fresh herbs added at the end (instead of during the cooking process).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Yummy! Reminds me of the rice that my Iranian neighbors used to make for me - love the crispy part! Thanks so much, I have been looking for a recipe like this for quite some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States