Persian Sabzi Polo (Herb Rice with Fava Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I make this and several other Iranian dishes and was taught by my mother in law, who makes the best rice (I go to Iran regularly so I have had a lot of persian rice). There are a few tricks I saw in various reviews so let me put it together. The key to perfect rice and perfect tadik is to a few things. First make sure you boil your rice with a lot of salt. we use approx 1/3 cup. You will rinse most of it off when you drain the rice prior to putting it back in the pot so you can get it to your preference. Secondly, when you are boiling your rice, wait til it rises to the top and look for stripes in the rice. If you put it on your spoon you can actually see the stripes in the rice which lets you know it is ready. Once you have added your sabzi,before you place your rice back into the pot for steaming, poor about 1/4 cup oil in the bottom of the pot, poor your rice in the pot and put it a mound making a hole in the middle so that it looks like a volcano. Add about another 1/4-1/3 cup of oil and poor it all over the rice. Take 2 paper towls and place it over the top of the pot and then put your lid on. steam on high for about 10 min, then med for 10 min, then low for 10 min. This will produce the perfect tadik and rice as a whole:) Good Luck! Brandi Rashidian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe was really good, but I got a little confused with what water I was doing what with, so my rice came out a little mushy. But for flavor, I used all fresh herbs and it was fantastic! Always attempting to add some more protein into my vegan diet, I added sliced almonds in the last 10 minutes as well. On accident, today on day 2 I was eating a Cutie orange and decided to throw it in (cold) to the rice I heated up. It was an amazing accident! It was great without the orange, but it added a little something extra. Also, I had no idea of how much tumeric to put in but my rice came out really yellow and had great flavor. I put maybe 2 tbsp in it. Thanks for the great and new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
first time cooking with favas and we loved this! i used only 2 cups long grain brown rice in 4 cups of water at the start. then a little less herbs for the lesser volume. otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out great. we liked the proportions of favas to rice we got. also took another reviewer's advice and saved some herbs to add fresh at the end. will definitely make again. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Couldn't find fava beans, but substituted baby limas and it came out just as I remembered it. However, this recipe makes a lot. I mean A LOT! So you might want to scale it back a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
really tasty rice dish, i loved that crispy rice at the bottom of the pan. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
i m always one of the Sabzi polow and fava 's fan,but i think you should note pepper,cinnamon and turmeric are optional,with these spice my sabzi polow's tase was a little changed to Indian food,and you can also cook it without fava beans ,and serve it with meat or fish(fried or cooked),it will be more delicious with Iranian rice,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was a great recipe and a big hit for Norooz diner with fish. Will do it again. I added Maggi to the water while boiling and used butter instead of oil. Thanks Gondwana for the recipe. Awsome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This made the house smell wonderful! I used another reviewers recommendation and put a damp towel over the top, worked like a charm and the crust at the bottom was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My Persian/Iranian husband recently passed away but he left us some wonderful dishes including this one. He used the towel over the pot before replacing the lid method which helped form the tadig perfectly. Before sealing the pot with the towel, he would mound the rice and dill mixture up into a "hill" in the pot and sprinkle quite a bit of turmeric on top making a golden surface to the hill. He said it is traditional for each person to get some of the tadig to crunch along with the softer rice. I miss him greatly and cook his "legacies" often. My very American son is addicted to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
To all those that are having a hard time getting the rice from the bottom of the pot can use this little secret...Once that crispy rice/tadik is done run some cold water in the sink and put the bottom of your hot pan in it...It will be much easier to remove .......... I gave it four stars because i hate sabzi pollo but my family loves it so ...its a good recipe...but one star goes for my hatred of it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reza Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States