Persian Kabob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
In all fairness we tweaked the recipe a lot. We used chicken instead of beef. We marinated overnight with ingredients other reviewers suggested like fresh mint, lemon juice, curry, garlic powder. Next time we'll use fresh garlic, more lemon juice w/ zest and authentic greek yogurt. Good starting point. Will try again. Thanks. Servied with Alton Brown's Lentil salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this in the summer, and everybody loved it! I will make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This recipe can be modified in the following way: Process 2 large white onions in a food processor and use the juice of the onion instead. You can put onions in a china cap to squeeze the juice out. Also you need to add the juice of 4 fresh limes. Fresh Ground Black Pepper and some Kosher salt is also needed. Finally, reduce the amount of yogurt you are using to about 2 TB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These are good. I thought the chopped onion was a little distracting and messy while I threaded the skewers - next time I'll leave them in big chunks to flavor the marinade and thread them along with the meat. I had my meat in marinade for about 8 hours which was fine, but I think I'd do 24 if I planned it better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I did not care for this recipe at all. A friend liked it very much. I guess it is just personal taste. We don't do a lot of mint things in my house so that might be it. I will say it was fun to make and thread onto the skewers and of course, almost anything on a skewer tastes good LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Nice flavor, easy to prep, great for a nice dinner without heating up the kitchen. I used plain greek yogurt. I served this with pita bread, lettuce leaves, tzaziki sauce and a cool cucumber salad. My husband doesn't like mint though so the next time I am going to have to fine a suitable substitute for the dried mint leaves. Overall, this made a great meal. Thanks BaysChick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These were okay, but I think I was expecting a little more. I prefer the Persian Shish Kabob recipe on this site to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I followed the recipe as written and marinated the sirloin cubes for about 24 hours. The meat was not overcooked (still pink in the center)but it was dry, tough and tasteless. To be fair, the meat had been frozen so perhaps that contributed to the toughness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Great recipe! I added green peppers, cherry tomatoes, onion, and pineapple to the skewers as well (which yes, I know, aren't Persian but sure taste good!) Be sure to oil the grate on your grill first. Since there isn't any oil in the mixture my first batch stuck pretty badly. Use 2 bamboo skewers (soaked in water for 20 min first) side by side to keep the meat from spinning on the skewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I marinaded these overnight, and thought they were actually pretty flavorful. I also added wedges of red onion and green pepper to the skewers, and grilled them outdoors. We had them in a pita with shredded lettuce, and drizzled with some of the mint/yogurt marinade (reserved from the original batch). Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Kofta Kebabs

Ground lamb is marinated in fragrant spices and grilled on skewers.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States